Skip to content

Finding Some Balance

August 14, 2014

The links in the sidebar of this blog have now been updated to reflect current links that work and to remove ones that don’t. In the process, I’ve enjoyed revisiting some of my favorite artists’ pages and am newly inspired by them all. I was sad to see some of them get left behind, but nowadays there are so many ways and places to have an online presence. Everyone has to find their own.

I’d like to say this blog is going to be updated more often. It always depends on how many other demands there are on my time. However, I’m seeking a renewed balance and cutting way back on  my social media time. It’s so tempting to always be “plugged in” but it can become a distraction. I want to make more art, and share it with you.

With that in mind, here are two of my most recent collages. I am just dying to get out to the studio to do more, but have to take care of some mundane and completely uninspiring things first. Maybe before the day is out I can do that. Have a creative day!

Apples to Apples, Collage, 6x8" mounted on 8x10 backing

Apples to Apples, Collage, 6×8″ mounted on 8×10 backing

The Handwriting on the Wall - Collage, 6x8" on 8x10" backing

The Handwriting on the Wall – Collage, 6×8″ on 8×10″ backing

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2014 1:18 pm

    Martha, thank you for sharing your work and your thoughts. You’re absolutely right about social media consuming so much precious time away from the studio. Love your work and keep it coming!

  2. August 14, 2014 5:36 pm

    great art….great titles.

  3. Sue Cole permalink
    August 14, 2014 6:17 pm

    in defense of fb, you may not have noticed, but there are several artists groups on there that you can join for inspiration

    • August 14, 2014 6:33 pm

      Yeah, Sue. I have noticed. What I need to do is find a group or two and just hang out there. I have two groups that I check in with already, but not art ones.

  4. September 17, 2014 8:23 pm

    A very subtle abstract. You have captured yourself in a contemplating moment. Beautiful as always.Great work! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

