Skip to content

Summer Fun In the Studio

August 11, 2014

As promised, here are the newest paintings that I’ve just completed for Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa. Each of these panels is 8×8 inches by 2″ deep. They are boxed up and gone!

New Work 2 7_2014

It’s been wonderful focusing on paintings for a few weeks, and I’m looking forward to doing more. Next, my sights are set on a big assortment of tiny boxy canvases. I’ve laid them all out on the table in various stages of development. Thinking of possible future groupings.

 

Little Canvases

But finally, I’ll eventually need to shift gears.  Collage is always a good way to do that. These papers are some of the results of my recent painting sessions. As always, I keep some large sheets of fairly good paper around for depositing excess paint from brayers and to use as blotters. The interaction of colors always inspires me to use them in future collages.

 

Papers 07_14 4

Papers 07_14 3

Papers 07_14 2

Papers 07_14 1

Hope you’re having some summer fun in the studio!

You’re invited to visit both of my etsy shops:  brushwithimagination  for collage and colorpoetry for paintings. There you’ll see most of my work for sale. If you don’t see what you want, let me know. I probably haven’t posted it yet.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. joarty1 permalink
    August 11, 2014 4:27 pm

    That will be a fabulous show!!!! Wish I was able to be there.

  2. patqu permalink
    August 11, 2014 5:52 pm

    Love these new pieces Martha. Pat

    Sent from my iPod

  3. August 11, 2014 10:41 pm

    These are beautiful! I especially love the top, second from left.

  4. August 12, 2014 7:04 am

    These pieces are exceptionally great. And, inspiring.

    • August 14, 2014 7:56 am

      Thanks Shirley! I felt good about these. They’re just a little different from past ones. Not even sure how.

  5. August 13, 2014 10:15 am

    me again. Do you name your art piece after its done, while you are doing it or ahead of time? What usually comes to mind?

    • August 14, 2014 7:58 am

      Pat, you always ask a question that’s a good prompt for a blog post. For me, the answer is complicated. Titles aren’t easy for me, which is why I will often start a series with one name and then number the subsequent ones in the series. Other times I like to give a unique title. Let me check previous blog posts for this, because I know I’ve reflected about this before. Back when I find it.

    • August 14, 2014 8:30 am

      Pat, in answer to your question, I almost always name my art piece after the fact. I have to spend as much time as possible looking at it to get an inspiration for a title. If one doesn’t immediately come to mind, I refer to a list that I keep on my computer of phrases and words that could be possible painting or collage titles. Or a word from that list might trigger a better one. I hope that helps answer it. But I did find a blog post that you might find fun, where I talk about titles.

      • August 14, 2014 5:34 pm

        thanks so much Martha for your input. It is appreciated..the old blog post also.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

