Skip to content

Working Smaller

April 23, 2014

I find myself working small again, and it’s not because I don’t have the space to do really large works, but it’s more that I love little collages and little canvases. Here are two new collages, roughly 4 inches square, mounted on larger paper. They haven’t been listed in my Etsy shop yet, but will be in a day or so.

Undisturbed - Collage, 4x4" on 5x6-1/2" Backing

Undisturbed – Collage, 4×4″ on 5×6-1/2″ Backing

 

Someone's Been Here - Collage, 4x4" on 5-1/4x7" Backing

Someone’s Been Here – Collage, 4×4″ on 5-1/4×7″ Backing

I used to love the physicality of facing a large blank canvas and moving to music as I painted. This painting is 4×7 feet overall, which I created as one painting.

Tribal_Whispers

I haven’t done that for a while now, and don’t miss it all that much. I get enough physical exertion out of my garden after all.

Garden Dogs

And making bread.

Tornado Bread

It’s a nice balance.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2014 5:14 pm

    Think I would like to sit in your garden and share your homemade bread, then tour the studio and work under your tutelage. 🙂

  2. joarty1 permalink
    April 23, 2014 5:38 pm

    Small works are often more difficult to balance…but you do it well. Lovely garden.

    • April 24, 2014 10:19 am

      I agree with you, Jo. That may be one reason I love them — they are a challenge really. Thanks!

  3. Maria permalink
    April 23, 2014 7:15 pm

    There’s something about a small scale, but fully thought-out & executed artwork that makes it feel all the more precious

    • April 24, 2014 10:21 am

      Thanks for your comment, Maria. There definitely is just as much thought in a small piece as in a large one. Even too much some days! 🙂

  4. Denise Spillane permalink
    April 23, 2014 11:54 pm

    Love your post, great feeling from the balance. The small prints are great

  5. April 27, 2014 6:08 pm

    Great balance, indeed! The bread looks lovely, the garden is SO inviting, and you small works are like jewels. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

    • May 7, 2014 9:10 am

      Thanks, Cindy. A few days have passed since this blog post, and I’m starting to feel a little out of balance again. Too much garden and kitchen and too little art! Eeek!! 🙂 That needs to be remedied.

  6. April 28, 2014 8:05 am

    Love these small collages Martha. You seem to strike the right balance in them and that makes them all the more strong.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

