Skip to content

A Coffee and Collage Kind of Morning

April 16, 2014

This morning I sat with my coffee and created four new collages, which is a first for a while. It felt so good. As always, it took a little while to get a groove going, but it wasn’t as difficult as it often is. Maybe it was because I’ve had the pent-up desire to do some art for several days now. And it could have something to do with Spring Fever. This is one of those gorgeous, cold days, with beautifully budding trees and flowers starting to bloom, the birds singing, but a little too cold to be outside. So it was a perfect coffee and collage kind of morning.

After creating the new ones, I reminded myself of the folder full of recent collages that I never got around to listing in my Etsy shop, so I did that next. I feel better now.

Here’s a peek at the newest ones that haven’t even quite dried yet, and I hope you’ll browse through the shop for what’s been added since you last visited.

Welcome Spring - Collage, 6x8" on 8x10" backing

Welcome Spring – Collage, 6×8″ on 8×10″ backing

Resistance - Collage, 6x8" on 8x10" backing

Resistance – Collage, 6×8″ on 8×10″ backing

6 Comments leave one →
  1. joarty1 permalink
    April 16, 2014 1:11 pm

    Lovely papers…must go look at your shop.

  2. April 16, 2014 5:07 pm

    Love your ‘Resistance’! I know how you feel.Creating art does enrich our lives and makes us feel special!! I`ve been ckecking your etsy shop for quite some time.I am new to etsy, however as of today I`ve got over 1,000 hits over 7 months (and some sales).Does it mean anything? What is your experience with etsy??I value your opinion.Thanks,Majda

    • April 17, 2014 10:57 am

      Thank you, Majda. Regarding Etsy, I could write a book about my experience there, but the bottom line is that it is a very crowded venue now, and you have to keep dancing to get any attention there. You have to renew things just to keep them coming to the top (cheap advertising!) promote offsite in places like facebook, pinterest and twitter, make sure your shop link is everywhere on all your communications, and make treasuries. If someone includes you in a treasury, be sure to comment on the treasury’s page and promote that, and favorite the shops represented. Spread the love.

      My Etsy sales are very slow now, but that’s because I’ve been a slacker on all the above points. I hope these are a help!

  3. April 17, 2014 6:14 am

    Reblogged this on Annjrippin's Blog and commented:
    I don’t often rebog, but this post struck a chord with me about feeling that pent up desire to make something – very strong when you get it, and it makes you miserable if you can’t find an outlet… And some nice collage to look at.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

