Skip to content

When All Else Fails, Bake Bread

March 28, 2014

Truthfully, baking bread is something that can fit between the cracks of your otherwise busy everyday life, which makes it a wonderful creative outlet. This week it was no-knead bread from my favorite bread book My Bread by Jim Lahey. The picture on the cover is of a very dark loaf, and that’s the way it’s supposed to be. If you have read the book, or if you decide to get it, he explains the things that happen to bread at the molecular level as it’s rising, fermenting, baking, and cooling. It’s a beautiful read.

Here’s mine from this week.

No Knead 3_25_2014

Busy-ness has kept me out of the studio and I am getting antsy. It still feels so good to just be in there, so sometimes I sit at the studio computer and play music while I do everything that requires a computer. While I’m there, I’m always tugged by little things that catch my eye, above the desk . . .

Studio 2

around the walls . . .

Inspiration Board 1

or a spread of papers on a table . . .

DSCF3937

or a stack of little baby canvases . . .

Stack 5

or a collection of my favorite brushes sticking out of a ceramic pot.

Tools of the Trade 3

Maybe I can get some good quality studio time today, or perhaps even over the weekend. That would be so nice!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2014 9:37 am

    my favorite bread recipe!

    • March 28, 2014 10:04 am

      Yes, mine too Marsha! Every time I make it I wonder why I don’t just automatically start a loaf every couple of days. It’s amazingly wonderful, and so easy!

  2. March 28, 2014 10:00 am

    Love the tour of your studio. Inspiring. THat bread looks delicious. Do you need someone to share it with?? 🙂

  3. May 15, 2014 3:58 pm

    I love your site. I am relatively new to wordpress. I just started blogging. I am a young artist and your work is so inspiring. Your blog looks so awesome. I am still trying to figure out how I want mine to look. I’d love some feedback from a pro like you. http://www.zenunrated.com
    Thanks!

    • May 20, 2014 1:40 pm

      I like your blog very much! Good job. My only advice is to just keep blogging and allow your personality to shine through. The rest will take care of itself.

  4. zenunrated permalink
    May 15, 2014 4:00 pm

    Reblogged this on ZEN Unrated- by TonicARTistry and commented:
    Amazing Artist I just came across. Her work is so great and inspirational! Check out!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

