Skip to content

Dog Collages

March 20, 2014
Dog Collages, each 5x7 inches

Dog Collages, each 5×7 inches

These three collages all went to the same collector, sold through my Etsy shop. As you may already know, I rarely use photography in my collages any more, having gravitated toward hand painted papers and interesting printed patterns. However, this collector had bought the first two quite a while ago, and I got a nice surprise last week when she requested that I do another one for her. So the bottom one was the result. It was a fun reason to get out to the studio.

I hope she likes this one just as much in person as she did when I showed her the scan, and that these two doggies enjoy their new home.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2014 10:51 am

    Oh, what fun! I have always worked – in collage – with just the colors, textures,etc…but I recently received an old album of black and white photos (circa 1938) that I’m thinking of incorporating. Yours are inspirational, and a great example of having recognizable images without having them totally dominate the space. Thanks!

    • March 20, 2014 1:11 pm

      Thanks, Cindy. I’m glad you got inspired by those. I have always had trouble with just that — balancing realism and abstract elements. I appreciate that feedback.

  2. March 20, 2014 10:52 am

    These three were done so well. I’m gravitating toward including something recognizable in my own work… maybe my own photos. More people seem interested in seeing something recognizable.

    • March 20, 2014 1:12 pm

      I think you’re right, Jo. I may decide to experiment with some more new stuff with just a hint of realism. Experimentation is the fun part for me!

  3. joarty1 permalink
    March 20, 2014 2:14 pm

    Love those dog collages.

  4. March 20, 2014 2:27 pm

    Beautiful Compositions within the geometrical forms. Love’em!

    • March 20, 2014 4:30 pm

      Thanks, Ozzie! I can never do anything in a real-life setting. I always have to shake things up a bit.

  5. March 20, 2014 6:22 pm

    I really like these Martha. I like the idea of a focal idea. My friend told me my collages were very linear, as all straight lines. I also use bought design paper from mail order with minimal use of my own papers. I mentioned how great yours were 🙂

    • March 21, 2014 8:54 am

      Glad you like these, Pat. I would love to see some of your collages. I’ll bet they are wonderful.

  6. March 21, 2014 8:33 pm

    I love your works Martha! Wish that they were card size but still absolutely love them! *HUGS*

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

