Skip to content

Coming Up for Air

March 12, 2014

Breathe. Relax. That’s it . . . aaaaaaah! So much better.

Isn’t getting older supposed to earn you more time for contemplation, reflection and relaxation? To read more, paint more, learn to draw, bake bread, take more walks, smell more flowers?

I’ve somehow managed to keep my days full of busy-ness these past few weeks. But I have to say that at least there’s a difference now. At least I’m busy doing more things that I freely choose, and fewer things that are chosen for me. For that I am grateful.

Here is another new collage — a combination of drawings and a gelli print. The colors are neutral, just like what I see when I look out the window.

Forgetting to Remember, Collage - 4x6 inches

Forgetting to Remember, Collage – 4×6 inches

Classes in my studio are back in full swing.

Painting Class 1 Day 1 01_15_2012

At the same time, I’m managing to do a little art of my own and start working the veggie beds. And yes, baking some bread.

Bread 1

 

 

Publicity is always a good thing, right? 

Last, but definitely not least, here is a link to an article featuring my work in the current issue of Mixed Media Art Magazine. It’s a beautiful magazine. Be sure to go to the home page and think about subscribing.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2014 4:24 pm

    Love your comments, and thanks for the reminder to trust our instincts……
    Really like your work!

  2. March 12, 2014 4:27 pm

    I so enjoyed seeing the article. Congrats on having your art in such a great artistic magazine.

  3. March 12, 2014 10:01 pm

    Very interesting article, Martha. It’s one that should be read a few times, but it is so-o-o you!

  4. March 13, 2014 7:17 am

    Thrilled for you. Nice to see your name in print like that. And, as usual you are generous, open and always ready to help ” the masses” by explaining process. I am sure your students love having you for their teacher. Mmmm….the bread…..couldn’t have that around me….I LOVE bread…..and butter.

    • March 13, 2014 7:44 am

      Thanks, Karin Lynn. I was flattered they asked. And yes, bread and butter are pretty deadly around here too!

  5. March 13, 2014 9:41 am

    Seeing your post has help to put a few choices into action! Your work is awesome!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

