Skip to content

Scheduling More Studio Time

August 27, 2013

Do you suppose blocking out studio time on my calendar would get me out there working more? I desperately need to spend more face time with my art, and haven’t had the chance very often over the past few weeks.

Oddly, I find it a blessing that I’m teaching one night a week. That ensures my presence in the studio at least long enough to teach — and more, if you count the time spent getting the room ready. I told my students last night that I’m grateful that they come once a week, and I meant it.

I’ve even learned to use the time that they’re working to do a little bit on my own work. I’m demonstrating periodically anyway, so it might as well be things of my own that I want to develop further. And goodness knows there’s a lot of extra paint flying around the room (well almost flying) and I take advantage of the leftovers where I can.

We’ve been talking about texture and I’ve been showing them how I use it in my work. Here’s my table of pieces that I’ve used for demonstration purposes. If you know me well, you know these will change and morph into something else before they’re done.

Boxes 0813b

 

 

I think I have a couple of new collages that I haven’t posted to the blog. Collage is the thing I miss most right now!

The One That Got Away - Collage with hand painted papers, 5x7 inches give or take

The One That Got Away – Collage with hand painted papers, 5×7 inches give or take

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2013 12:34 pm

    I schedule my studio time, otherwise I would get nothing done my weeks are so hectic. I use to fee like a schedule would crap creativity and make me loathe time spent, but I actually get more done, look forward to my studio times, and I’ve found my productivity is excellent being that my mind is already thinking ahead for when the time arrives.

    • August 27, 2013 3:17 pm

      Good points Allison. I need to just do it, now that there are so many pressing demands from every direction. I have to and want to accomplish all of them. Just time to tighten up on time management.

  2. Janice permalink
    August 27, 2013 2:08 pm

    I doubt you are alone in not getting to your art, life just seems to get in the way. I’m thrilled that I actually got 1painting & a few 5 X 7 collages done this summer!
    You seem to be really enjoying your classes.
    Janice

    • August 27, 2013 3:19 pm

      Janice, the classes have been fun. I love seeing people get an “aha” moment. I think we all tend to neglect our art sometimes, but it calls louder and louder until we can’t ignore it any longer.

  3. Sandra permalink
    August 27, 2013 4:26 pm

    Wish I could attend your classes Martha! I am sure they would be both instructive and fun. One of the art supply stores here ran a half day workshop recently where a small group painted a seascape, using texture for the foreground. We all had great fun and ended up with a “finished” painting – I will fiddle with mine though as want to add to some of the colours, there was no time for colour mixing to make them more realistic.

    • August 29, 2013 10:06 am

      It would be so much fun to have you in class Sandra! That workshop would have been fun. I always love seeing all the different takes on one project.

  4. August 27, 2013 8:55 pm

    You are inspirational for me right now…I am in the middle of many changes….and fighting to keep balance of health and spirit in my life. I will be back in the studio after Ken finishes his radiation treatment and we move into the smaller house. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • August 29, 2013 10:07 am

      Mary Helen, I think about you a lot. You are a brave and strong person. Lots of changes going on — just take good care of yourself too. Looking forward to the days when you can do art and have some fun.

  5. August 28, 2013 1:23 am

    Martha – I have tried that and actually sometimes it works … But, I understanding your feeling … The pieces are great, as always

    • August 29, 2013 10:08 am

      Thanks, Shirley! Sometimes when I miss it terribly, I just drop everything and give myself a whole day out in the studio.

  6. August 29, 2013 9:48 am

    I said same thing yesterday. I need to allot time for my art as I always find something else needs me.

    • August 29, 2013 10:12 am

      Sue, it’s so true. I think it might be a good thing to put it on the calendar so the computer (or phone) dings and says “Time for art!”

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

