Skip to content

Haiku 90, Acrylic on Panel

August 5, 2013
Haiku 90 -  Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2 inches

Haiku 90 –
Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2 inches

Another new painting sent to Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa, Florida.

Several more are in the works and I’ll show them as soon as they’re presentable.

Meanwhile, I’ve been enjoying Monday night painting classes in my studio. We’re getting ready to kick things into gear with some experimental textural effects. Everyone really loves all of the texture mediums that I have sitting around. I’ve created a sample board to give them all an idea of what each medium can do.

Texture Samples 1

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    August 6, 2013 12:05 am

    Outstanding “Haiku 90. Peaceful blending of color as well as textures. Wishing I were nearby to join your classes. They sound exciting as well as interesting. Have you ever used cheesecloth for texture? I tried once with interesting results. It can be put on over or under acrylics for different effects.
    Good luck with your showings. Keep up the amazing work!

    Blessings, Barbara

    • August 6, 2013 9:28 am

      Wish you were here too, Barbara! I haven’t used cheesecloth, but have used the mesh used in veggie bags. I’ll try some with some gesso. It should be a great texture.

  2. August 6, 2013 4:25 pm

    Hi Martha:
    Love this piece. All I can see is fall! Such a visual….

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 6, 2013 7:44 pm

    SMASHING Martha!

  4. August 6, 2013 8:18 pm

    Oh what a good teacher you must make….i know I learn from you “long distance.”…..p.s. do you use the self leveling gel for texture or just gloss…I use it watered down….how do you use it full strength? K.L.

    • August 16, 2013 9:27 am

      Karin Lynn, I’m glad you do get something of value from reading my blog. I wish I could do a class with a bunch of my faithful readers. I apologize for not answering your question before now! I somehow thought I did. I don’t water down the self-leveling clear gel, though I’m sure that would work too. I like the honey-like consistency. I use it mostly as a final gloss coat over everything when I consider a piece finished. However, another way I use it is to make subtle textures in its surface right after applying it, then letting that dry. When a darker color than what is underneath is applied very wet on top of the textured gel, nice things happen sometimes.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

