Skip to content

New Paintings Florida-Bound

June 27, 2013
Haiku 91 - Acrylic on cradled panel, 8x8x2 inches

Haiku 91 – Acrylic on cradled panel, 8x8x2 inches

Yesterday I sent a new shipment of paintings to Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa, Florida. These have been in the works for the past month. There’s lots of drying time between paint applications and textures, and not a lot of continuous focus on any one piece. But I like working this way. The nature of the process has become a deeply-ingrained habit. Where many artists spend days and weeks — maybe even months — on one piece, my process almost always involves several pieces at one stage or another.

When the time comes to say goodbye to them, I’m always a little sad. That’s why I make sure that I document them with the best photographs possible. Their surface sheen and textures sometimes present problems with lighting and decisions about the cast shadows created by the textures. With all of those factors taken into consideration, there still is no foolproof way to get an accurate image. They’re all about the texture after all.

The one shown here is probably the most textured of all the newest ones. I’m pleased with the way it turned out.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. patqu permalink
    June 27, 2013 11:23 am

    Hi Martha: I tried to comment on todays post, but it would not accept my password for WordPress or even facebook. Not sure why. I love this new painting going to Florida. I have a question: Did you create it by painting over collaged papers to create the texture or did you use a palette knife/thick paint to create the wonderful texture? Thanks, Pat

    • June 27, 2013 12:04 pm

      Gosh Pat – no clue why you had a login problem. This is happening to me more and more too. Glad you like the painting, and in answer to your question, it’s all paint texture! I think the first layer was a very thick application of Light Modeling Paste, then a swirl or two of syrupy Self-Leveling Clear Gel, then some color, then some more color on top of that, and so on.

      Here is a link to all those yummy gels!

  2. June 27, 2013 2:59 pm

    Beautiful piece, Martha!

  3. June 27, 2013 3:11 pm

    Nice job, Martha, on several levels – the photo, the painting, the words.

  4. Barbara permalink
    June 29, 2013 1:00 am

    Absolutely speaks for itself! Amazing vibes it is sending due both texture and the blending of colors chosen.I love it and wish you well with it.
    I have one textured piece I am proud of in which I incorporated sprinkles of red clay earth. I live in the deep south where red clay is easily found.

    Namaste, Barbara

    • June 29, 2013 7:04 am

      So appreciative of your positive comment, Barbara. I am in North Alabama. Where are you? We have nothing but red clay. We bought something that was advertised as topsoil to build up a flower bed mound in our yard and they came and dumped a load of — you guessed it — red clay! I like your idea of incorporating it into your art! I need to think about that.

      • Barbara permalink
        June 30, 2013 1:21 am

        Blessings and thank you for your reply. I live in south La.. No “red clay” here only occasionally it is brought in for fill. I was able to secure a cup full for my creating needs awhile back.
        We have what is know as “mud painting” north of here. An interesting concept using various soils in the area. Here is more info if anyone is interested. http://www.mudpainting.com
        I am 80 years old, home-bound and have only recently taken an interest in abstract, as well as abstract expressionism. I enjoy the idea of expressing myself through color on canvas. The pushing and pulling of the paint has a spiritual connection to me. I follow where the paint takes me, never knowing where we will meet.
        Well wishes and best of luck in Florida. Your work is outstanding! Love being here as well.

        Blessings, Barbara

      • July 1, 2013 11:48 am

        Very interesting about the mud painting, Barbara. Thanks for that link. I’m happy to hear you’re experimenting. I think art keeps us young, involved, and connected with something larger. I’d love to see some of your work. Thanks for your comments.

  5. June 30, 2013 12:10 am

    Your work is lovely! Color, depth, and minimalist a feel although the process is complex!

  6. patqu permalink
    June 30, 2013 3:58 pm

    H again Marthai: doesnt self-leveling gel self level so one would not get texture? Hope this goes thru comments. thanks, Pat
    I will just have to play with it!! 🙂

    • July 1, 2013 11:46 am

      Hey Pat, got your comment fine. Yes, the self-leveling clear gel self levels, but if you put it on unevenly, you can get some interesting different levels. Sort of like honey. You can pour it on in swirls in small amounts and it will actually stay and dry in the original swirls, or you can cover the whole surface evenly with it, and in that way it smooths out all over.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

