Skip to content

Getting Back Into the Rhythm

June 24, 2013

Peek

“Peek” – Collage, 4×6″ on a 5×7″ backing.

I’ve been slowly getting back into the rhythm of the studio, and have begun to realize what a refuge and a retreat it is. How I’ve allowed myself to become so sidetracked is a bit of a mystery. Chalk it up to a long and seductive spring, with its incessant call to be outdoors. But I have to confess there’s nothing quite like art making for lifting the general mood.

Even though it’s very much a part of our house, the studio is off to itself and isolated. Once I’m there, and the cat and dogs are settled into their favorite resting places around the room, in our own little world with music playing in the background, the magic starts to happen.

After working on some new pieces for the gallery in Florida over the past few days, I took a little time to indulge in some collage play. I didn’t realize how much I missed my papers and glue.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    June 24, 2013 3:10 pm

    Welcome back. Very soothing piece. Stay focused and enjoy the outcome. I am currently struggling a bit myself but not off track yet! Reaching inward for spiritual needs to inspire me. at this time.
    Namaste, Barbara

    • June 24, 2013 5:26 pm

      Thanks, Barbara. I need to keep myself inspired. I love the feeling of excitement when the work is flowing freely.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 24, 2013 3:14 pm

    welcome back.margaret

  3. June 24, 2013 5:05 pm

    I forgot for 6 years how much I love to create!!!! I’m not even sure how this happened. I LOVE looking at other peoples art blogs. I miss being around creative people. This collage is lush 🙂 and I feel a little bit inspired…

    • June 24, 2013 5:24 pm

      Delilah, your comment is one of the reasons I keep on keeping on. I love being inspired by others’ art discoveries too.

  4. June 24, 2013 10:44 pm

    I have missed you and I understand the attraction of such intimate small works in collage. Peek” is a perfect title and invites the viewer to come in close for a look….I am almost finished with my move of my studio. Ken starts his treatment and radiation after next week so I want to be close by….Love, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  5. June 25, 2013 3:59 am

    Maybe your creative spirit needed some extra time in nature in order to expand in the studio. Always a joy to see what you create!

    • June 27, 2013 9:59 pm

      Maybe so, Bren! I really have needed some kind of mental shift. We’ll see what comes of it.

  6. June 25, 2013 5:57 am

    The studio! Isn’t it a temple for our souls? — Have not been creative during the past weeks, and I feel as if some inner organ of mine wasn’t working properly. I just know it will come back. Lucky you if you are in a creative flow.

    • June 27, 2013 10:00 pm

      Yes it is, Eva! The creative flow is harder to get back after a long interruption. It makes me feel out of sorts until things are humming again.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

