Skip to content

Gardening Is Not for Sissies

June 13, 2013
Most of the garden beds

Most of the garden beds

My thoughts emerge out of my feelings,
Like plants that grow out of the earth.
To find the roots of my happiness,
I must loosen and dig in the dirt.” – Tom Lescher

Summer is upon us now, and I still haven’t had my usual studio time. This is going to change when we get back from a week at the beach that has been planned for a long time. We’ll be sharing a house with our son and his family, which should be a wonderful break.

I’ve promised my students that we’ll start classes up again when I get back early next month. They seem very excited to get going again, and I find I  miss them. They have become such a nice group of friends.

The garden has kept me out of the studio  during this long spring planting season, and I’ve noticed a strange thing is happening. I haven’t felt any urgency to get back inside. Maybe I’m getting ready for some new inspiration.  If my experience holds true, this time away from my art will reveal some kind of new direction, and that’s always a good thing.

But for now, I’ve been outside as much as possible. That requires me to get the day’s chores over with before the heat of the day kicks in, and then by that time I’m recovering for the rest of the day. Pretty soon it will be too hot to be out there at all. I know this from past experience. Gardening is a joy, but isn’t for sissies.

This is a new painting that went to the gallery in Florida. I always have mixed emotions about sending my new works away, possibly never to see them again.  I hope you like this one.

Haiku 85 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2 inches

Haiku 85 – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2 inches

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2013 11:22 am

    I like that painting a lot. I know what you mean about letting them go. It is like letting your children go………

  2. June 13, 2013 11:46 am

    I can totally relate to the gardening thing – especially the “sissy” part! My problem is that when I’m out in the gardens I keep thinking I should be in the studio and when I’m in the studio I look out the windows and think how the gardens (i.e. weeds) need tending.

  3. June 13, 2013 1:07 pm

    I like the painting with the sea influence!! You may find a battle between the sea images and image f flowers happening in your work Sometimes a break away from actual canvas painting is good for the sole and the creative
    spirit will spark again as it always seems to want to
    Have a nice break in Florida!

    • June 21, 2013 9:15 am

      Yes, you are right, Chris! Maybe I’m anticipating the sea a little. It is such a huge part of summer in my memory, since we lived in Florida for so long. Our trip will be up the east coast this time to Delaware, of all places. It’s a relatively short drive for the kids, but a long road trip for us. But we don’t mind — road trips are also a great summertime memory (and inspiration!)

  4. June 14, 2013 4:22 am

    Interesting textures here, Martha. Definitely influenced by your days in the dirt.

    • June 21, 2013 9:16 am

      Thanks, Annette. I really ought to do some macro photographs of the textures in the dirt. And on top of it, like matted straw for instance.

  5. June 14, 2013 9:52 pm

    a beautiful piece… and I do know about how the garden interrupts the studio..

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

