Skip to content

The Creative Garden

May 27, 2013

I hope I can be forgiven for my absence from this blog. This spring has been busier than normal. The garden keeps getting bigger and bigger, and my creative energy has tended to go into the great outdoors now. Somehow gardening is just as energizing for me as painting, and in many ways they work on a parallel path. My tendency is to experiment without having to know everything there is to know about the process. Sometimes I just throw a lot of seeds on the ground without making neat rows, and when they come up they give me beautiful random patterns and colors. Like this lettuce bed, for example. There are 5 or 6 different kinds of lettuce planted together. This way I don’t have to worry about weeds — the lettuces crowd them out. We pick whatever we want for that day and go back again for more. Always fresh and delicious!

Lettuces

And this bed was planted in a similar way. It has kale, purple mustard, and garlic.

Kale Mustard Garlic

The tiny round leaves just above the bottom left hand corner are freshly-added okra plants, which are planted throughout these beds. When the greens are gone due to the summer heat, the okra will take their place.

So I guess you can say in general that I don’t like to follow rules, recipes, instructions. I like to get comfortable with my “medium” and then just experiment a lot.

And one more picture for you . . . and then I promise no more garden pictures today. These are self-watering buckets that I built from instructions that I found online.

Buckets

I really do like this design because it uses only one bucket instead of two. Here’s the link if you’re into that kind of thing. I modified the design (there I go experimenting again) to include filling tubes made of pvc pipe scraps, and didn’t bother to put the plastic covers on the tops. But it isn’t a bad idea – the plastic really does prevent evaporation of the water, so I may add those later. The netting covering the two on the left is to protect my tiny plants from the birds.

 

Studio Update

On the art front, I delivered my two paintings to the annual juried show here at the Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts, and then didn’t make it to the opening. I don’t know when I’ve ever let that happen, but as I said it’s been busy almost to the point of exhaustion. So I didn’t go. Wouldn’t you know I won an award! It wasn’t a major award, but an honor just the same. So of course I’m embarrassed about not having been there. I won’t let that happen again.

Award winning painting shown here.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2013 2:40 pm

    Hi Martha: I think we all have other interests that take us away sometimes. I think it all adds to our creativity. I do like your pic that won the award. Thanks for sharing.

    • May 27, 2013 2:44 pm

      Thanks, Pat! So nice to know you’re still there. 🙂 I’m sure when it’s too hot to be outside I’ll be right back in the studio. Maybe these garden adventures will bring new energy to the art.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 27, 2013 3:07 pm

    congrats miss martha.margaret

  3. May 27, 2013 5:28 pm

    Our winter never seemed to end, and then everything started at once. We don’t have a garden, but it must have been a rush!

    • May 27, 2013 7:09 pm

      Same thing here, Eva. It’s part of the reason I’ve been out there so much of the time.

  4. May 27, 2013 5:32 pm

    Just discovered Storm’s Path. It blows me away.

    • May 27, 2013 7:13 pm

      Yes, a profoundly eerie reminder of the wrath of nature. We still see it when we drive that route.

  5. May 29, 2013 2:12 pm

    Like with art you just do it and anyway nature does not grown nice and neat as a rule!

  6. May 31, 2013 9:11 am

    with so much to do between garden and studio.. you have my complete understanding…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

