Skip to content

Slow, Steady Progress

May 9, 2013
Haiku 83 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

Haiku 83 – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2″

I’m working at the art of gardening as well as creating work in the studio. Paintings for the Florida gallery are still my main focus in the studio — that is, when I can get myself  in there to spend some quality time. In between rainy spells, I’ve been getting out to the garden to continue the prepping and weeding and cleaning and planting. And that’s saying nothing of the harvesting and preparation of several things that have wintered over, like greens and beets, which are labor intensive.

These rainy spring days provide studio time and a break from garden chores. The above painting is another one of 16 that I’ve sent to the gallery to date. I have several more in progress, which get some paint added, and then I wait for that to dry, and then wait for some inspiration for further direction. It’s a long slow process, but one that fits in well with my lifestyle. Nothing urgent or forced. Just slow, steady progress.

Boxes May 2013

 

 

Boxes 2 May 2013

 

Note: The blue you see on the sides of these boxes is painter’s tape. I’ve decided I want to leave the natural wood on these, so I’ll protect them until the paintings are finished.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. mamamiaheather permalink
    May 9, 2013 8:01 pm

    Interesting way to work! I’ve worked on two at a time before but your method is calling to me. I think it would help keep me in ‘the zone’ longer! Thanks for the tip! I will post on my blog when I try this out (‘Art and Life’ at http://www.heatherassaf.blogspot.com).

  2. May 10, 2013 12:47 pm

    That’s a little like I work. I think an artist must always be open to ‘hearing’ the next stage. Like the idea of the blue tape, haven’t thought of that, but then I don’t usually work on wood.. Thanks for sharing such great ideas.

  3. May 11, 2013 2:57 am

    I am a painter myself and love your work. It is also interesting to read about the daily life of another artist.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

    • May 27, 2013 1:38 pm

      Thanks for taking the time to stop in and comment, Dennis. I promise to post more — I’ve been doing “garden art” lately!

  4. May 11, 2013 7:51 am

    It is a process. Those cradled panels are looking good, be fun to see where the process takes each of them.

    • May 27, 2013 1:39 pm

      Bren, I’m getting ready to post again and show more of these. Although these particular ones are still in that exact same state right now. They must be feeling very neglected. 😦

  5. feganart permalink
    May 11, 2013 12:35 pm

    I very much like you process and relate to it. Right now I’m working on several colored pencil drawings and several different size paintings. Love your paintings. Doris

  6. May 21, 2013 4:15 pm

    I adore your paintings.I like the feeling of getting lost under all those layers of deep, rich colors, is mesmerizing, mysterious, relaxing, wonderfully complex and inspiring at same time.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

