Skip to content

Spring!

April 29, 2013

Iris 1

 

 

Pansies

It has been a good, long spring, with a nice transition of temperatures from cold to cool, and no real heat just yet. This is the time that I  do a lot of physical stuff outside, and even that is a gentle kind of work. I don’t push too hard, but know that it will soon be too hot to get these things done. Things like moving loads of pine needles, leaves and grass clippings from the pile way out back to the flower beds and garden paths, compost from the compost pile to the garden beds, and picking up tons of sticks and pine cones and tossing those onto the burn pile.

And then there will be planting. The little seedlings in my mini-greenhouse aren’t doing much. If a few survive I’ll be lucky. I don’t know what happened to them, but I think they’re confused by the cold-ish nights. On nights that are forecast to be down in the thirties, I bring the whole thing inside, since it’s very portable. I have to believe that when the warm nights come, they’ll start to wake up and put out better roots.

The iris at the top is one of a bucketful of bulbs that my sister gave me last fall from her yard. The pansies are in two big pots, still here since Thanksgiving. Pansies are amazingly tough and can stand a lot of cold temps.

Meanwhile, the garden is waking up as well. The fall plants that have wintered over are starting to grow greener and taller. We still have plenty of beets, red mustard, onions, and garlic, and the English peas that we planted in February are starting to climb up the trellises and are blooming.

English Pea Blossom 3 Sm

 

Soon I’ll have to get the beets out of the ground and deal with those so I’ll have room for peppers and cucumbers in their place. By dealing with the beets I mean pickling them. That will require me to set aside a day. By the way, I save as many of the beet greens as I can by using up the small leaves in salads and freezing the rest for sauteeing and soups. Not much of anything goes to waste in my organic garden.

More art — just not the kind that’s done in a studio.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 11:27 am

    I love the photos of your flowers. Where I live in Ontario, Canada we won’t see flowers for at least a month. I had almost forgotten what they looked like.

    Thanks for posting. It’s nice to see that flowers are growing somewhere. I love your comments about the yard work.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

    • April 29, 2013 3:08 pm

      Thanks Dennis. Glad you enjoyed the photos. It didn’t get below 20 degrees here this past winter, so the pansies just kept blooming. The irises are right on time, and we have quite a few coreopsis that just started popping out.

  2. April 29, 2013 10:41 pm

    Just catching up with ypour latest posts, Martha. I really do love your new abstracts for the galleries that represent you. I’m a big fan! You are very inspiring!!

    • April 30, 2013 6:32 am

      So nice to know you have a few moments to stop by, Debrina. Thanks for the encouraging words. I’ll be watching your blog for future discoveries in your art and travels.

  3. April 30, 2013 8:47 am

    your photos are wonderful and i adore your work below…

  4. June 11, 2013 9:46 pm

    I like your gardening your art and your iris photos . We are in Ontario too it’s rainy but the flowers are beautiful

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

