Skip to content

Taking a Deep Breath

April 23, 2013
New paintings, each acrylic and mixed media on cradled panels 8x8x2"

New paintings, each acrylic and mixed media on cradled panels 8x8x2″

It’s time to sit back, take a breath, and share with you some of what’s been going on in the studio. When we last visited, I had started on a series of new paintings for Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa.

In the two weeks since I started that project, I have shipped 16 new pieces out and will be starting on more soon. These paintings are small and are best displayed in multiples, so I like to do several at a time.

While all that was going on, I had just photographed and uploaded the first 8 images of the paintings for documentation. I always send thumbnails of my work on an inventory sheet for the gallery. I managed to get that done, but then soon after that the computer where I kept all my art images and art business files crashed. I had gotten complacent over time and hadn’t backed that one up regularly, and of course I came close to losing the photos of my newest paintings, which were already on a brown truck somewhere between here and the gallery. After a week of hand wringing and sleepless nights on my part, the computer tech pronounced the mother board dead, but thankfully managed to retrieve all of my photos and document files.

I now have a shiny, sleek, brand new laptop. It took a little while, but I’ve installed all my graphics software and copied the files I need onto this one. Whew. I can breathe now! Maybe I’ll sleep better too. And I have learned a very important lesson: Files you may think you could survive without . . . you probably really do need them, and would miss them if they were gone forever.

Meanwhile, back in the studio, shown above is a peek at some of the work I’ve sent to the gallery. Not all of these in this picture are new pieces. They are a mixture of recent ones that haven’t been shown in a gallery before, and some are brand new ones.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2013 7:46 pm

    Martha I just went through this kind of crash with my external hard drive. I fortunately have most things elsewhere so the loss was minimal. These new wee ones look great! I love seeing them all together like this.

    • April 24, 2013 4:50 pm

      Thanks, Terrill. Yes, that particular computer was older and where I kept my junk files, but turned out there were a lot of others I would have hated losing. Never again! 😉

  2. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    April 23, 2013 10:46 pm

    Okay Martha!! These are terrific! Congratulations on all your successful (hard work) paintings. Look forward to more, more. Sherrill, Montreal

  3. April 24, 2013 12:12 am

    I have an external hard drive that is 500g that I use to back things up on. Now they also have “the cloud” but I don’t know if I would entirely trust that. I also make dvd’s of my photos. I was always taught to backup in several ways, just in case. Glad things are better now

  4. April 24, 2013 1:34 am

    Oooh! I love the one in the center top, but indeed, your small pieces look awesome in multiples!

    I’ve got an in the cloud backup solution (http://www.crashplan.com/) and feel much better knowing that all my files live someplace far away as well as on my physical drives in the house – you may want to look into something like that!

    • April 24, 2013 4:51 pm

      Thanks for that link, Candy – and for the nice words about the paintings. I’ll definitely check out the cloud solution.

  5. Sandra permalink
    April 24, 2013 2:36 am

    Love these Martha. I too am doing series of small paintings but it is to practise a new technique, not for a gallery. I wish you every success with yours.

  6. April 24, 2013 7:05 am

    thank you martha for sharing once again 🙂 i am glad u got most stuff back, i am in the complacent mode and maybe must get the backup done soon…
    thanks for the reminder..
    and ofcourse the new pieces look great…..remind of the ones i am working on now, and i realise they look better together than on their own….all the best…

    • April 24, 2013 4:52 pm

      Thanks, Shilpa. Yes, I always like things in big groupings. The more the merrier for me.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

