Skip to content

Shifting Into Overdrive

April 12, 2013

Panels 04_11_13

This week I spoke with a gallery that needs a number of new paintings to replace pieces that have sold, and that’s always very good news. But it puts everything else I was doing on the back burner for a few days. Now I am in full production mode in the studio. There are breaks in the work to allow for lots of drying time, so it’s not something that has to be attended constantly. In fact, there are times I wish I could keep going, but can’t because of wet paint. So I still get to go outside with the dogs and pull a few weeds in between.

As always, I’m sharing a studio shot of current works in progress. I like to go back and look at these after the pieces have been completed too, because sometimes they go through many changes.

In addition to these are seven more that are ready to go with wires, signatures, and titles. Those just need to be photographed properly so I can show them as well. Some of them are completed paintings that I’ve reworked. When I’m working in multiples this way, it’s easier for me to see what I want the standard to be with new work. I change or rework some pieces to conform to my current body of work. Not better or worse, just evolving.

As these come together, I feel good that I’ve done my very best work. It’s important to me to document and get good photographs to inform future work. After all, I’m sending these out into the world and quite possibly will never see most of them again.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2013 9:38 am

    I do know how that is… when you get a call like that, enjoy the process…

  2. April 12, 2013 1:16 pm

    Very cool – are you painting directly onto the wood? Love your work! 🙂

  3. April 12, 2013 8:54 pm

    the beginning…..we all have our way of starting don’t we? My grandaughter (almost 14) came over yesterday and glaced over at a hung canvas that had just been started….her face screwed up and I could see that she thought….what the heck…that! is nana’s art…jikes! It was NOT a pretty sight!
    I like the way you have several on the go at the same time….a good idea that I might steal if I get some space cleared. I have worked on three at a time but then I think of them as a trio and want them kept together….I will be watching to see these develop.

  4. April 14, 2013 10:41 am

    Always great news!

  5. April 14, 2013 7:36 pm

    Congrats on the need to create more work. That is wonderful motivation!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

