Skip to content

SAD Days Are Over

April 8, 2013

Abby in the Garden Sm

The sun is finally out a few days a week, something we haven’t seen for several months. I think this year it was especially gray for longer periods, so that after a time a kind of sad feeling crept up on me. I’ve never been diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder, because I generally don’t believe labeling perfectly normal feelings as disorders, nor would I ever take a drug for it. But this year I noticed it more than ever before.

At first I would get a momentary nagging feeling and think to myself “geez I’m in a funk” or “why am I feeling so down?” I wondered why I was dragging around even after my 2 cups of coffee, and wanting to sleep all the time. I would look for reasons like hearing someone died or was ill, or watching too much news on TV.

But it wasn’t any of that. It was the absence of sunlight and fresh air. I know that now, because this past week I made sure I took advantage of the sun, even though it was still chilly. And toward the end of the week, it was downright spring-like. I got out there with my wheelbarrow and moved some pine needles and leaves around to use as mulch on future flower beds. I hung out with the dogs and weeded the old garden boxes. I lifted my face to the sky, breathed deeply, and savored it for as long as possible. We can now leave the windows open some nights, which lifts my spirits more than you know. And the difference is amazing. No more SAD days!

Here is another happy little collage that I created last week.

Waking Up Before the Sun, Collage 4.5 x 5"

Waking Up Before the Sun, Collage 4.5 x 5″

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 4:35 pm

    All across the Web and amongst friends, I keep hearing how badly folks need some sun and clear skies. Amen!

    • April 8, 2013 4:42 pm

      I knew this already deep down, but must have forgotten how important it was. I think I took some cod liver oil last year, but this year I didn’t. So glad the sun has decided to pop out finally!

      • April 8, 2013 4:47 pm

        It does tend to creep up on us, too. Vitamin D is a big help around here…. Enjoy the sun!

  2. April 8, 2013 4:38 pm

    You are not kidding. It has been a long, cold winter and it seems spring will never arrive. When I was out in Tucson I felt so good. I realize now it is because I was outdoors enjoying warm weather. It is fairly nice today but by the end of the week it is supposed to be in the 30’s again here. It is getting hard to take.

  3. April 8, 2013 5:54 pm

    The weather this year, everywhere, is not fully cooperating. Today, here, finally warm and bright, lifting ones’ spirits. glad to hear you are feeling a bit better. 🙂

    • April 9, 2013 8:32 am

      Thank you, Pat. You know, I came here for seasons and to get away from too much sameness in the climate. I still prefer seasonal changes, but sometimes they aren’t exactly what we plan for. Especially now. I think the climate definitely is changing and has a lot of us off balance. Amazing what a little sun can do! Glad you’re getting a little of it yourself.

  4. April 8, 2013 7:05 pm

    I did a simple thing a few years ago that has made a tremendous difference in my spirits…I replaced a bulb in my most used reading lamp with a full spectrum (daylight) bulb. It was about $20.00 from Seventh Generation catalog, but well worth it. I love the collage!

    • April 9, 2013 8:30 am

      Bingo, Cindy! Perfect solution. Actually I have an Ott light in the studio which I could plug in beside my desk in the office. Why didn’t I think of that? More full spectrum bulbs around the house would be a help too. This house is dark with small windows. Thank you!! And glad you like the collage.

  5. April 8, 2013 11:35 pm

    Hi Martha, I have been following your blog and enjoy it very much. Your collages are wonderful, in particular I like Ritual 47. I had to write though, when I saw your greyhound! I adopted a greyhound and he was a wonderful dog with quite the character. He has since passed, but he certainly enriched our lives. Glad you are getting out and enjoying the sunshine.

    • April 9, 2013 8:29 am

      Thank you, Sandy. So glad you liked the painting. That dog in the picture is Abby the whippet. Having been around greyhounds some, I’ve noticed they are exactly the same temperament. She is so gentle and affectionate. She loves to run a full tilt a time or two, then flop on the sofa or her favorite soft bed for the day. She’s a rescue like all of our dogs have been, and is getting up there in age now — we’re not exactly sure of her age. But she has been such a joy.

      Thanks for stopping by and saying hello.

  6. April 9, 2013 1:54 am

    What a nice collage!
    Glad that iit is better now, where you live and you’re feeling better

    Here it’s still cold and grey outside and I’m still waiting for the sun:
    Actually I have force myself to go on working…
    Do you know how Tizian prepared for working?
    He put on his most beautiful clothes and that’s what I’m goin to do today to make me smile 🙂
    Greets from cold Germany

    • April 9, 2013 8:24 am

      Anna, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I love that story, and I’m sure the clothes make a difference in one’s mood. You reminded me of when I worked in a corporate environment. When I knew there was some kind of stressful meeting or presentation coming up that day, I would dress up in my very best outfit, down to matching underwear. It made me feel more confident and competent.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

