Skip to content

Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad

April 4, 2013
Ritual 47 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

Ritual 47 – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2″

Elements 5 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

Elements 5 – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2″

I’m two for three with my entries into this year’s annual juried gallery show Arts Alive at the Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts.

If you are anything like me, you will immediately focus on and second-guess your rejected non-accepted entries to a show, rather than simply enjoying the approval and validation of certain other works. Human nature being as it is, I can’t help myself. At first. Then my immediate secondary reaction is to acknowledge that this is an individual juror with many, many choices before him or her. And what if none of the three works had been accepted? I would simply get myself to the show to see all of the wonderful art that made it in.

But I have to say I’m excited to be an exhibited artist once again, and get to attend the opening night gala. Garden reception under the stars, live music, wine, great food, great conversation, and two historic homes filled with beautiful art.

Now that the results are in, I can show the pieces that will be in the exhibition. I didn’t want to jinx it by posting them beforehand.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2013 1:00 pm

    Congratulations Martha! I love them both. And such wee fellows 🙂 I have always been amazed with the strength that these small paintings can have. These two again affirm this appreciation.

  2. April 4, 2013 4:59 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS are in order!

  3. April 4, 2013 7:54 pm

    I love the both of them…..well done and congrats to you. For the very first time I sent an entry in to get “Juried”…..crossing fingers XXXXX

    • April 5, 2013 10:26 am

      Thanks, Karin Lynn. I wish you the best with your show entry. Crossing fingers for you here.

  4. April 5, 2013 5:45 am

    congratulations, well deserved

  5. April 15, 2013 8:04 pm

    I love your work! So glad I found your blog (thanks to the artist blog directory on The Altered Page!) I have an art blog too, it is: http://www.michelleoconnorweekendartist.blogspot.com in case you ever want to mosey on over and take a peek! I will revisit your blog often. I admire your art.

    • April 24, 2013 4:48 pm

      Michelle, your blog is great, and I love your paintings. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

