Skip to content

Spring Is Here – Right Here in the Studio

March 28, 2013

When it’s seed starting time, my studio has to make room for my seeds. In the past, I’ve had them spread out on a table, not leaving much room for art. But now I have this really cute little greenhouse, which sits in the morning sun in the window, and then on days that are warm enough I take it out to the screened porch for some more direct, though filtered sun.

Seedlings 2

Looking around the studio, it’s easy to see I still have a lot of tables up from when we had classes. I may just leave them, if I can discipline myself not to clutter them all. It is nice to have plenty of room to lay out whatever I’m working on.

Studio Multi Tasking

One More New Collage

Undercurrent - Collage, 5x5" mounted on 6x8" Blue Paper

Undercurrent – Collage, 5×5″ mounted on 6×8″ Blue Paper

When I want a collage that spills over the edges of the picture plane, I always have to consider the backing on which it’s mounted. Or the other way around. In this case I had a sample piece of very nice Strathmore paper and began with the collage rather spontaneously and randomly. The color of the backing becomes part of the design when done this way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2013 6:26 am

    Love your little greenhouse

  2. May 9, 2013 6:37 pm

    I wish I had lots of space. I can dream. We have changed our internet, so should be around more now.

    • May 9, 2013 7:18 pm

      Myfanwy, I haven’t been around much myself. My workhorse laptop died, and so there were a couple of weeks of fretting over saving the files and setting up my new one. And now my new one doesn’t play well with the internet. It only means that I have to be closer to the room where the modem is, but takes me away from my “creative space.” Grrrr! Nice to hear from you!

  3. May 30, 2013 3:43 pm

    Cute little greenhouse! I want to squash it 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

