Skip to content

Now I Know Why Artists Make Journals

March 24, 2013
A Song for Us - Collage, image size 4 x 4.5"

A Song for Us – Collage, image size 4 x 4.5″

It’s Sunday, and yesterday was another great day in the studio making collage. Today I’m taking a much-needed day off. It’s raining, and raining, and raining some more, with high wind warnings and perhaps some hail later on. So that keeps me out of the garden. I keep looking over at the little basket of favorite collage materials, thinking I may not be able to resist again today.

All of this printing and collage making is creating an amazing stack of works on paper. I showed this picture a couple of months ago:

Portfolio of Works on Paper

All of them are very respectable pieces. I do have my favorites, of course, and probably will end up editing the collection, using some parts to incorporate into new pieces.

So what does one do when more quantity isn’t necessarily a good thing? Art journals, of course! I have resisted the temptation, but may have to give in to it.

About the above collage: It’s made from pieces of gelli plate prints and an old etching.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2013 3:27 pm

    I’m working on getting rid of every single piece of paper from my studio, doing large collage-paintings. They are great fun to work on…so far, I’m not sure if they are otherwise successful.

  2. March 24, 2013 4:51 pm

    I’ve been make paste papers and painted papers lately because I just taught a class in it, and am going back this Wed to use the classroom one more time because I normally don’t have that much space to work in. I’m doing that so I can use the papers in all kinds of projects later. I haven’t tried gelli printing yet, but it might be next on my list. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • March 24, 2013 7:01 pm

      Mmmmm Sue! Paste papers. They are so wonderful. You would LOVE the gelli plate! It’s instant gratification.

  3. March 25, 2013 2:30 pm

    Art journal-ing and friendship books (where you pass your art journal on for someone else to contribute) are the best ways I know how to incorporate/modify collage pieces or any artworks small enough to fit on the pages. I also love to keep the ones I’m not entirely happy with for that rainy day project when you’ve got nothing better to do than to rip those old collages to shreds and incorporate thier elements into new work. I love to strip back my pieces and then reinterpret them.

    • March 25, 2013 10:37 pm

      Debrina, I know that many of my collages are destined to become transformed into something completely new. And who knows, even the pages of a new journal! Thanks for stopping by. I enjoyed reading your recent blog posts just now. Things sound exciting for you!

  4. April 8, 2013 4:29 pm

    love your blog!
    i enjoy making my own journals too….the materials i source from places like $ stores!
    funny though…i notice there’s very very few guys doing this kinda stuff…looks like im the only one so far!
    anyways, each to his/her own, i suppose…im very happy doing it…!

    • April 8, 2013 4:41 pm

      I’m glad you’ve decided to just do what makes you happy. We all could learn from that.

      • April 8, 2013 4:59 pm

        hi, martha!
        yes, its so funny really….i just enjoy the peace and relaxation that writing journals or making them, gives me….far better than watching tv or texting someone on my cellphone!
        its my own kind of meditation…..!
        thank you for dropping in, madam

  5. April 8, 2013 4:29 pm

    Reblogged this on ww123.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

