Skip to content

A Good Studio Session

March 22, 2013
Optional Written Work - Collage with hand painted papers and ephemera

Optional Written Work – Collage with hand painted papers and ephemera

The title for this collage came to me out of the blue, but it seemed to fit perfectly. It’s another one of the newest ones from my two recent early morning collage sessions. Its measurements are 4-1/2 inches square on a backing that gives it a one inch border. If you click on the image you can see it in my Etsy shop.

Since I love using pieces of prints that I’ve made, I needed to add to that collection, so today I spent some time with my gelli plate printing new sheets. Here are some shots of the new stash from today’s session. Some areas of the sheets may look a little messy and chaotic, but it’s surprising how interesting they can be when cut down to size.

DSCF3936 DSCF3937 DSCF3938

Note:  In this picture, the gold and brown patterned sheet at the top and the blue-green on a white patterned background (on the right) are both magazine pages to which I’ve added paint. No gelli printing at all with those.

DSCF3939

 

The center (background) of this last shot is a big piece of brown paper that I’ve been using to clean off my brayers. This has turned into nice collage paper as well.

Not bad for a couple of hours’ work!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Polly permalink
    March 23, 2013 10:24 am

    I love to see works in progress.

    • March 24, 2013 6:59 pm

      So do I, Polly! It’s inspiring to me to see where other artists are in their process too.

  2. patqu permalink
    March 25, 2013 5:37 pm

    Hi: Enjoyed this post. But I cannot figure out how you got so many patterns on each piece of paper. I have used Gelli plate also, and can get several colors, but not the different patterning on each sheet. What is the trick? 🙂 thank you
    a thought: do you put things down on the plate?

    • March 25, 2013 10:41 pm

      Yes, Pat! You put anything and everything down on the plate and press the paper onto the whole thing, using your fingers and palms of your hands. If it’s a simple stencil, that’s pretty easy, but some of what you see are rubber bands or bits of yarn just plopped down into the rolled paint. In those cases you have to press a little more firmly. Think of that as only one layer of the print. Then when that’s dried a little, you can come back and print something else right on top of that. Hope that answers your question. Some prints can have several layers. Then you could even draw and paint on top of everything. I’m going to share a video link that someone put up on facebook to illustrate this. Check my next post.

      • March 25, 2013 11:52 pm

        Another note, Pat: The bigger sheets are imprinted several times in several places with the 6×6″ plate. It’s the only size I have — now I want a bigger one.

  3. patqu permalink
    March 26, 2013 9:55 am

    Yes, I see that. I have the great big one….maybe that is what is limiting me. I do the whole page at once and its finished. So probably need a small one too, to add imprints in pieces. Well I will play some more and watch the video again. (I had seen it before) Thanks again.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

