Skip to content

A Little Collage Therapy

March 18, 2013
"Domain" - Collage, 4.25x4.5 inches, backing 6x7 inches

“Domain” – Collage, 4.25×4.5 inches, backing 6×7 inches

After spending too many days away from my studio, it’s probably no surprise for you to hear that a little collage therapy was  in order.

The studio is a little chaotic right now. I haven’t had time to rearrange things since we ended our series of classes. I’ve been very busy with garden cleanup and family things. So what I decided to do was get out my “collage to go” kit early this morning before daylight.  I didn’t realize just how nice it would be to get my hands back into that little basket of papers. A couple of quiet hours later, I was at peace again.

There have been other therapies like starting seeds, and baking bread, and entertaining dinner guests. Those things are wonderful in their own way. But the art begs for attention no matter what fun is going on elsewhere. First it whispers, then it speaks, then it shouts, and eventually I have to just make time for it.

I’m thrilled with my newest collages and wonder if I’ll still feel the same way about them in a couple of months. Somehow I feel they are evidence of growth in a good direction, therefore I think they’ll stand the test of time. Are they a reflection of the joy I felt while doing them? I think so.

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2013 4:20 pm

    love the present play with paper. I too have been neglecting my art, but today sat and played a bit, making postal cards for Easter. Feel better now as I know you do. 🙂 Not sure just what I have been doing…at least you have been productive.

    • March 24, 2013 6:55 pm

      Thank you, Pat. I know, even the tiniest bit of involvement with creativity lifts the spirits.

  2. March 19, 2013 9:07 am

    Collage is such a wonderful way of getting tuned in to the studio again. Yours are lovely, thanks for sharing!

    • March 24, 2013 6:58 pm

      Yes, Cindy – I don’t know what took me so long to make collage a regular part of my life. Now it’s a natural and satisfying way to get the flow going.

  3. March 20, 2013 4:56 am

    What a wonderful little collage, great job Martha!

  4. March 21, 2013 4:14 am

    Thanks heavens – I was getting worried about you. Glad to know all is well. Hugs from Faith and I.

    • March 24, 2013 6:59 pm

      Cath, it’s so nice to know you wondered. It’s a little embarrassing just to drop out of sight like that. Even with all you’ve had going on, you’ve kept everyone updated. I must do better!!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

