Skip to content

Activity in the Studio!

December 31, 2012

New Work b 12_31_12

Nothing like a deadline to make me procrastinate even more. My purpose in going out to the studio this weekend was to start reorganizing things to get ready for starting my class a week from now. However, in the process of straightening up the place, I saw these three really great canvases that begged me to put new paintings on them. Two of them were starts already, but I made good progress on them today. The largest one was a mediocre abstract landscape before I started transforming it.

So since it’s New Year’s Eve and really ought to be a day off, I granted myself the day off and painted. It made me happier than anything I can think of at the moment.

I hope your New Year’s Eve is festive and your New Year is the most creative and prosperous ever.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. angelpainter permalink
    December 31, 2012 5:25 pm

    I have been painting all day – finally, after a very long break and I forgot about the endorphins it creates for me.

    If we paint on NY’s Eve, and it makes it us happy, it will foreshadow 2013 in the best way possible.

    That’s my story, and you can borrow it.

    Thank you so much for sharing your considerable talent with all of us.

    I hope 2013 is your best year ever!

    • January 1, 2013 10:58 am

      Deborah, you are right about the endorphins. What a great way to start the year!! Thanks and a very happy and prosperous new year to you!

  2. December 31, 2012 10:15 pm

    i am just getting started…the grand daughters were here so I painted with them :0! Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • January 1, 2013 10:59 am

      Mary Helen, every one of my grandchildren have known it was a given that when they were with me they would paint. And two small ones are now coming up to share the tradition! Isn’t that the best? Happy New Year!!!

  3. January 1, 2013 9:11 am

    Lovely way to spend your holiday! Best wishes for the new year!

    • January 1, 2013 11:01 am

      Cindy, I hope everyone who reads this will click on your blog link and just read through some of your posts. Your writing is wonderful! Happy New Year!!

  4. January 1, 2013 7:31 pm

    I love studio photos – just home from being away awhile for the holidays – tomorrow is my sneak away day in the studio:)) Wishing you a wonderful new year.

  5. Sandra permalink
    January 2, 2013 12:23 am

    Do share your beautiful new paintings when you feel ready! Happy New Year and have a wonderful 2013. I have booked in for two art classes (one is mixed media so may do some collage there), they start at the beginning of next month, looking forward to.

    • January 9, 2013 4:52 pm

      Sandra, your classes sound like so much fun! Thanks for the wishes – the same to you!!

  6. January 9, 2013 10:51 am

    Thanks for sharing this – I spent all of New Years day at my art studio collaging with my buddies – it was pure heaven!!! Happy 2012!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

