Skip to content

Finally, Daydream Becomes Reality

December 27, 2012

Studio 09_12

Daydreams are the constant companions of an artist. I’m sure you’ve had your share of them. Without them there would be no creativity at all. Some of my daydreams include an art retreat on the banks of the Tennessee River, writing a book for artists, and teaching some courses. Until now, all of this has been relegated to the back burner, mostly due to inertia on my part.

But not any more. Soon I’ll be teaching acrylic painting classes in my studio, once a week for eight weeks. Which day of the week they are will depend on the best choice for the first two students who have already signed up. Once that’s decided, I’ll advertise it more widely in the area. As far as I’m concerned, just the three of us can proceed with no problem. But I can accommodate possibly four more.

The only obstacle is cleaning out the studio . . . again! Does it ever end? I already know the answer to that. I have new folding tables and plenty of chairs. And just last week I ordered six new table easels, which were delivered pretty fast from Art Supply Warehouse. These table easels are wonderful — very well made and sturdy, and will accommodate a canvas up to 25″ in height.

A few weeks ago I mentioned that these classes would soon start. I had feedback from some of you about how to approach the structure of the classes. I feel it really depends on the experience level of the students. I don’t want to limit enrollment to a certain experience level, and I don’t want to insult anyone’s intelligence by making them too elementary. Perhaps I will do a few exercises with them to see where everyone is. I have so much I want to share — above all, enthusiasm for painting. It’s going to be great fun!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2012 1:27 pm

    well once you figure it all out – I’ll be standing in line for your on-line classes.

    • January 1, 2013 8:59 am

      Deirdre, I am going to make a concerted effort to figure it out in the new year. It’s been long enough! You’ll be one of the first to know.

  2. Sandra permalink
    December 27, 2012 2:23 pm

    How I envy the artists in your area who can attend what I am sure will be wonderful classes. Have you thought of making a teaching DVD from the classes? That would be so good for those of us who are too far away. I hope you had a Happy Christmas and would like to wish you a prosperous and creative year 2013. Best wishes.

    • January 1, 2013 9:00 am

      What a great idea, Sandra. My video equipment is still just a little flip camera and a tripod. But still I should record parts of it. Best wishes to you in the new year!!

  3. December 27, 2012 3:51 pm

    I wish you every success with these. It’s such a joy to teach and watch people blossom. Wish I was nearer. I’m reading this on my iPad, finally it’s sorted itself out and it looks as though I can readeverything again. I’ve so missed my visits

    • January 1, 2013 9:02 am

      I’ve missed you too, Myfanwy! I don’t have an iPad yet — I still like typing the old fashioned way – with a keyboard on a desk or table, with two hands. 🙂 I’m with you re teaching. It’s always so much fun. Messy, a little stressful with all the prep work, but still fun and growth-enhancing.

  4. December 27, 2012 4:57 pm

    Congrats Martha. These classes will fulfill one of your daydreams. The others will eventually come true also. I wish I lived closer to sign up! I wish you the best in 2013.
    Patq

    • January 1, 2013 9:08 am

      I would love to have you in my classes, Patti! That would be so much fun. Wishing you a Happy New Year!

  5. December 27, 2012 8:31 pm

    What fun it would be to get to meet you, visit and play in your studio!

    • January 1, 2013 9:13 am

      Lisa, we are just going to have to make it virtual one of these days!! What if we all did a videoconferencing class!

  6. December 27, 2012 9:02 pm

    I think we are always re-organizing and moving stuff around….now you can invite more people into your intimate work space….I wish I lived closer so I could drop in and enjoy your energies. Peace and happy New Year, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • January 1, 2013 9:15 am

      Mary Helen, I wish you were closer too. I’d love having all of you drop in! Happy New Year and happy creating!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

