Skip to content

Sorting, Sifting, Arranging, Choosing

December 8, 2012
That Same Summer - Collage, 5x5"

That Same Summer – Collage, 5×5″

One of my most recent collages made from a limited choice of materials — limited on purpose in order to focus the mind. I don’t have an orderly collage stash, so sometimes I like to just choose a few papers and snippets that I love and concentrate on those.

For an idea of how many pieces I have in my portfolio of recent works on paper (mostly collage) here is a photo. They are organized in clear plastic folders and clear bags according to whether or not they’ve been listed online for sale. You can probably guess that there are way more pieces than I have time to list.

Portfolio of Works on Paper

And over here, on the other side of my studio table, is a stack of collages and recent prints. I’ve been going through recent works to decide what collages to send for the 15th International Collage Exhibition and Exchange. Yes, I’m on top of that this year! Will be sending out my package of collages soon.

Collages and Prints

Another show I’ll be participating in is the Third Annual Twitter Art Exhibit. Artists from all over the globe will send postcard sized works to be exhibited and sold for a chosen charity. I’m happy to have been able to participate in every show since its inception. It’s a great way for artists to network with each other. This year I’ve been chosen as an Honorary Ambassador, and I’m . . . well, honored! The deadline for entry isn’t over, so if you are on twitter, check it out.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 8, 2012 6:31 pm

    sounds like you’re on top of things

  2. December 8, 2012 9:40 pm

    I love the fact that you said you had limited resources….oh my!!!! Beautiful work and focus is vital for completion. I had a day of complete rest so now I am trying to catch up. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • December 19, 2012 9:31 am

      Thanks, Mary Helen! I hope you’re rested and have had a chance to do some creating by now.

  3. December 9, 2012 1:56 am

    Great work Martha! And congrats on the being chosen for the Twitter Art Exhibit, what an interesting group of artists from around the world!

  4. December 9, 2012 10:36 am

    I can relate! I also have piles of finished collages as well as a stash of materials – your recent work is lovely -so glad I found you!

  5. December 9, 2012 11:38 pm

    Thinking about ICE15 already? I *am* impressed. Huge congrats on being an Honorary Ambassador for the Twitter Art Exhibit.

    • December 19, 2012 9:33 am

      Thanks Cath. Yeah, I think I’m afraid of things sneaking up on me. Trying to keep my ducks in a row, and it ain’t easy. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

