Skip to content

Getting Ready to Celebrate

November 17, 2012

The Eternal Question – Collage with Washi, Monotype, and Hand Painted Papers, 5×7″

We’ve been painting, sprucing up the yard, cleaning the house, and stocking the kitchen for a visit with our Philly kids for the Thanksgiving holiday. There will be 14 here on Thanksgiving day, give or take. My Champagne season has been starting earlier and earlier each year. Now it starts on Halloween and goes through New Year’s. So yes, there’s plenty of Champagne. The wonderful thing we’re doing this time is buying a ready-baked turkey. That will free up my oven for far more interesting goodies like sweet potatoes and pies.

On the art news front, I’ve agreed to teach classes in my studio starting some time in January. I was talking with two friends just the other day and told them I’d been thinking about doing it. So they immediately said “Sign us up!” One has a hair salon and she told me she would put out flyers for more students. Wow. Instant art class. Now all I have to do is decide how to approach it. Will I want each student to work on whatever they want to do, or do I structure it more? Haven’t decided yet. This has been a long time coming. I just needed someone to kick me into gear.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2012 5:22 pm

    You are a natural teacher Martha. I know your classes will be a total success. I just wish you lived closer so that I could attend. (I don’t want to move back to the south so you would have to move out here. ) 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear what the course is all about. Have you thought about doing online classes? Something else to consider for sure. Then neither of us would have to move! 🙂

    • December 3, 2012 9:09 am

      Itaya, it would be so much fun to have you join us, of course! You know, I’ve thought about online classes too. It’s the logistics that stump me, so I guess I need to get a little more tech savvy! You always have such good tips. I was thinking of you this morning as I tweaked my RedBubble page.

  2. November 17, 2012 7:58 pm

    In my first workshop, I out on display a bunch of finished artworks that I had done. I also supplied the basic materials; talked to them about the techniques I used in my own artwork, and then got them to follow me down to the local thrift shop with just $5 each (min) to spend. The $5 came out of their deposit. Armed with loot, we came back and proceeded to alter and create. As they worked on their projects, I taught them, by giving them the advice they needed to complete their projects and this ranged from the application of crackle paint, through to resin work. Hope this helps. Doing workshops is just so much un! I wish you all the best.

    • December 3, 2012 9:11 am

      Debrina, I love these ideas! Something to think about for sure. Especially the one about the thrift shop!!

  3. November 18, 2012 5:06 am

    What a good time to be able to pop in! Lovely collage, and good news too. Your classes will be great, wish I was nearer. Start with structured, that way you can gauge the standard of each pupil. What fun! Can’t wait to hear. Hopefully 2013 will be less stressed.

    • December 3, 2012 9:12 am

      Thanks for these points, Myfanwy. I’m looking forward to it, and also glad I’ll have some planning time between now and then.

  4. Penney Knightly permalink
    November 19, 2012 9:16 pm

    Martha, ♥

    I just found your work via etsy and love the look of it. It is so free and seems very art journalistic in its approach. I love the hand painted paper idea. I read some articles about it and it seems like such a lovely and loose creative thing to do. I think I will make some up and then write on the back of them when I send letters to friends. Or possibly, inset a letter into them and use them as a border or background.

    Thanks for the heads-up for a whole new creative expression for me!

    -Penney Knightly

  5. November 21, 2012 5:11 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving Martha!

  6. December 3, 2012 1:57 pm

    Your collage is wonderful – love it!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

