Skip to content

Cycles of Nature

November 13, 2012

Cycles – Collage with Hand Painted Papers, 5×7″

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.

– Albert Camus

These are just a few images from the changing leaves in my neighborhood. The cycles of nature are evident everywhere, as the flowers fade and the trees explode in a riot of color. Just as fast as the beautiful colors emerge, the leaves begin fluttering to the ground. It’s beautiful, but so brief. Very soon all the colors will be gone, except for the pines and other evergreens.

My maple tree out front . . .

. . . my neighbor’s dogwood


. . . and the view down the street

The above collage is part of the series using my doodles, cutout shapes, and painted papers. Still having fun with these.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2012 1:36 am

    Wow! That dogwood is amazing. We don’t have them here, more’s the pity…
    Love the ongoing collages of course 🙂

    • December 3, 2012 9:06 am

      Cath, the dogwoods are very popular here. We didn’t see them in Florida either. They are stunning in the spring and fall. And glad you like the collages!

  2. Sandra permalink
    November 14, 2012 2:04 pm

    What magnificent trees! Here it is spring and our trees all have lovely fresh green leaves. I do love this time of year before everything gets hot and dusty.

    • December 3, 2012 9:08 am

      Sandra, I love spring too! I think my favorite thing are all the ranges of colors in the leaf buds, and seeing them against a deep blue sky. So it’s pretty hot and dusty in your summers too? Bummer. Here too!

  3. December 11, 2012 8:01 am

    What a wonderful quote by Camus. I enjoy that you make me conscious of my environment. When I leave my house today, I’ll definitely have a look at the trees in my street.

    • December 19, 2012 9:34 am

      I’m glad, Annemarie. The changes are happening fast. I should take more pictures now that the leaves are gone.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

