Skip to content

Adding Doodles to the Collage Mix

October 28, 2012

To my collage papers collection, I have now added monotypes, doodles, and random squiggles, along with the many painted papers already accumulating. Here are a few examples.

Here’s a new collage using several of these elements. The original doodle:

I loved this doodle, but I finally got brave and cut it apart. Shown below is the resulting collage. In it you can see part of the doodle, plus pieces of monotypes, a painted magazine page, and a piece of paper that I painted with fluid acrylics:

It’s starting to look as if nothing is safe from my scissors.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    October 28, 2012 3:37 pm

    I love the idea of your lap-sized kit, and am enjoying all your collages. I start a night class on mixed media this evening so may end up putting together a similar kit. Am working on various texture effects, latest work was done using a dog groomer! Lovely organic shapes.

    • October 28, 2012 6:10 pm

      Sandra! Who would have thought of a dog groomer for texture. Now you’ve got my wheels turning. Enjoy your class!

  2. October 29, 2012 9:06 am

    Love the addition of the doodling to your papers, judging from the end result I’d say those scissors are pretty skilled at cutting 🙂

  3. October 29, 2012 9:43 pm

    I think I will try some doodling myself…so much fun and maybe with crayons! Peace, Mary Helen

  4. October 30, 2012 12:38 pm

    I’m loving the red-ovals textury look! It adds a lot to the overall collage. But doodling looks like a lot of fun. I might give it a try sometime!

    • November 3, 2012 8:43 am

      Mandaly, I think the variety of textures and line is what makes things fun. I’m not that great at drawing, but I can doodle! You might enjoy adding some doodles to your work.

      • November 3, 2012 12:13 pm

        Definitely, It’d be a nice project to work on 🙂

  5. November 13, 2012 8:49 pm

    Love the doodles and print additions to your work Martha! Love your work in general, it’s always fun seeing where you’ll go next with it!

  6. November 10, 2012 8:57 am

    Thanks for the mention, Jenny!

Trackbacks

  1. Today’s going to be good! « jennymorbeymakes

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

