Skip to content

Collage To Go

October 27, 2012

This morning I wanted to be in the living room, watching a few of my favorite shows in front of the fire (yes the fire!) with  my feet up. But I felt guilty not working on my art, so I put together this nifty little lap-sized collage kit.

It consists of an 18×24- inch piece of foam core I had lying around, for my lap, and a little basket that we brought peaches home in, containing a variety of papers, some glue, scissors, and a stapler.

Many of the monotypes I’ve been making have wound up in pieces in this basket. Delightful additions to the mix of papers for collage! While I sat there I was able to make five new collages. I’ll show you the individual ones in future posts.

This one was made using elements from a couple of the recent monotypes . . .

A Certain Feeling – Collage from Monotypes and Found Papers, 5×7″

. . . you may recognize this one as it appeared in its original state:

I think the collage is even more fun.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2012 2:01 pm

    Beautiful work! I love both of these.

  2. October 27, 2012 2:26 pm

    Lovely work! I love how neat it is………..I am sure it didn’t look that way by the time you were done! HA! I just got my gel print today and am looking forward to using it asap.

  3. October 27, 2012 3:46 pm

    You are always inspiring us Martha. These have turned out Great!
    I have a small old puzzle board for my lap as a support. We all like to be cozy & curled up sometimes.
    What are you using for your collages as a substrate? Bristol, watercolor paper 140 lb??
    Thanks, Patq

    • October 27, 2012 6:16 pm

      Thanks, Pat. I use whatever good paper I can find lying around for a substrate. I always have trimmings of heavy paper left over from larger works, so I just set them aside for collage projects. But in addition, I buy and keep on hand pads of Bristol and cold press watercolor paper (typically 100 lb.) and I even use 70-lb. acid free drawing paper.

      Sometimes I create a collage on a pre-cut backing that is cut to size, then mount it on a larger backing later, but what I really like doing is making the collage directly on a larger sheet and just letting it kind of spill out into the border.

  4. October 28, 2012 5:00 am

    The collages using the monotype papers are great!

  5. October 28, 2012 4:28 pm

    You have definitely had a great deal of fun here…these are truly amazing! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez stewart

  6. November 10, 2012 10:41 am

    Great idea to have a portable kit! I did the same when I went on holiday and couldn’t bear to be away from my scrapbook making! We called it ‘travel art’. The only problem was deciding what, or rather what not to put in it! Inspiring work you do

    • November 10, 2012 3:14 pm

      Glad now that I did it, Jenny. I’m sure I’ll be using this little kit a lot. And yes, “what to put in???” Although limiting the choices can sometimes focus the mind.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

