Skip to content

Monotypes and the Surprise Factor

October 25, 2012

Yesterday morning I spent another couple of hours creating monotypes and thinking about how the imagery can become more my own after exhausting many of the experimental possibilities. I’ve acquired a sizable collection of textural objects and things to use as stencils which provide a variety of fun layering and complexity.

But sometimes I want to be surprised. So for this session  I wanted to steer the process in my own direction — more intentionally organic, random and intuitive. I’m pleased and even excited about the outcome. The Gelli Plate has a wonderful sensitivity to every delicate mark, which could be easily lost under layers of paint and stencils. I like the monotype best when these intuitive marks can be preserved.

I’m looking forward to pursuing this process further. I love that it is low-tech, immediate, always surprising, and filled with instant gratification.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2012 8:20 am

    I love these. The last one is my favorite. I just ordered a geli plate and I am looking forward to seeing what happens!

  2. October 25, 2012 7:22 pm

    Nice prints. I have had a Gelli Plate for about 6 months and use it yet. You’ve inspired me! Ann

  3. October 25, 2012 7:23 pm

    I mean I’ve NOT used my Gelli Plate yet! Ann

    • October 27, 2012 2:24 pm

      Ann, I’ll bet you’d love it! If you do, would you share your results?

      • October 27, 2012 6:42 pm

        Certainly. I’ll let you know. I bought the G plate after having made several plates using gelatine and pulled some prints off those. (The plates kept in the fridge for ages). Ann

      • October 28, 2012 6:55 am

        Ann, I’d still love to make a gelatin plate just to say I’ve done it. Low tech art making has a huge appeal for me.

      • October 28, 2012 10:25 am

        G plates are quick and easy to make. and you’re not restricted to size or shape if you make your own. The disadvantage is its shelf life. I’m going to try using a gelatine substitute next time. Agar-agar. There’s a good book on low tech art materials: Green Guide for Artists, by Karen Michel. There’s a recipe, for instance, for milk paint.

        Sorry, I talk too much.

        Ann

      • October 28, 2012 3:34 pm

        No you don’t, Ann! 🙂

        I’m thrilled to get information from other artists. Thanks for this. Just on that subject, I received a complementary set of milk paint colors from a manufacturer and have never used them! I should get them out. They’re in little brown bags in powder form.

      • October 29, 2012 7:03 am

        Ah, synchronicity! We each of us have materials we should be using and aren’t! I’d never heard of milk paint before reading about it in Karen Michel’s book. The recipe is simple enough. It’s basically about curdling milk with vinegar and adding pigment to the curds. I hope I can look forward to seeing some of your work in which you’ve used milk paint. Ann

      • October 29, 2012 8:10 am

        Synchronicity for sure. OK, deal. I will do something with the paints and report back in a future post!

      • October 29, 2012 1:00 pm

        I’ll look forward to that. And I’ll un-pristine my Gelli plate. Ann

  4. October 26, 2012 5:33 am

    These are really engaging, Martha!

  5. Deborah permalink
    October 27, 2012 6:28 pm

    I have one I have never Gelli Plate I have never used. You make me want to get it out of hiding. Love the abstract nature of these prints.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

