Skip to content

More Fun With Bits and Pieces

October 4, 2012

Purple Sage – Collage, 4×4″

It’s ridiculous how long it took me to do this collage. It was my first time out in the studio for over a week. And for me, once I’ve let things sit idle for a while, I have difficulty getting back into the groove. I ended up with two collages today, but I’ll have to live with the second one for a bit before I decide it’s finished. I got into the “bits and pieces” stash again and thoroughly enjoyed playing with them.

The garden has kept me humming along, and there are lots of other things going on as well — all good. But if I don’t block out some time for my art, I won’t get to do it. I hereby pledge to do better.

I have a forest of giant broccoli plants that are starting to produce heads already. Our weather hasn’t been chilly for more than a day or two yet, which is a problem for the lettuce. I’m afraid it’s going to try to bolt unless we get some cooler weather and soon. The broccoli doesn’t seem to mind at all. It looks great.

In addition, we have beets, collard greens, cabbage, kale, and Osaka red mustard that have been newly planted. In a week I will have my onions and garlic in the ground.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 4:21 am

    Love the way what is happening in your garden shows in your art. The garden is sounding great.

    • October 11, 2012 10:49 am

      Thanks, Cath! Honestly between you and me (s-h-h-h – don’t tell anyone this) I think I get even more obsessed with my garden these days than I do with the art.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    October 5, 2012 6:50 am

    i see a great soup in your future…margaret

  3. October 5, 2012 9:45 am

    Hi Martha: It is amazing how different your climate is from ours in the Northeast. Our produce is almost gone except for a few hardy types and yours is just growing. And you are planting! Amazing. I am enjoying this little collage out of your bits and pieces stash.
    patq

    • October 11, 2012 10:53 am

      Thank you Pat! Glad you like that collage. I too am amazed at the differences in the planting zones. When I say I planted something, that means I bought the nursery plants and set them out. I had to give up and do that rather than start things from seed, because it’s so hot and dry here at seed-starting time. So they had a bit of a head start. Even so, I’ll probably end up having to cover a lot of them when the temps drop below 20.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    October 19, 2012 4:51 am

    it looks wonderful….:-)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

