Skip to content

Watching Things Grow

September 11, 2012

Sown – Collage, 4×4″

 

 

In my fall garden the seeds are sown; all the seedlings have been transplanted. All that’s left now is to watch and wait for new things to grow. It’s a little sad in a way, because I want to keep expanding and adding things. But now I’ve reached the point of no return, in which it’s too late to start any new plants, except for the onions and garlic that will go in with the first full moon in October.  But I go out there every single morning to make sure everything is growing and safe from pests.

This huge garden experiment has taught me that I enjoy watching things grow just as much as I enjoy the harvest. The garden is the first place I go as soon as there’s enough daylight. I take my coffee and just walk up and down between the beds, studying new growth, looking for things that weren’t there the evening before. I’m still such an amateur, but want desperately to be good at it.

This collage is another one inspired by the earth. The garden is turning green again now, but for a while I was preoccupied with the colors of the soil and the roots. In the same way that I approach my garden, I want to get better and better as an artist. No matter how much I’ve learned already, there is still so much more to explore.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2012 9:29 pm

    Lovely post Martha. Hope your harvest is as nice as these words.

    • September 11, 2012 10:12 pm

      Annette, glad you liked it. The broccoli is going very well, and should be ready for lots of fall and winter meals!

  2. Janice permalink
    September 11, 2012 10:50 pm

    Martha, about 6 weeks ago you sent me the link to a site where I could set up a web site. Well I’m back in the country now and of course I can’t find it! Please re-send the address.
    I really enjoyed getting The Artists Journal and your beautiful art along with the ideas while I was gone. Thank you so much.
    Janice

    • September 11, 2012 10:51 pm

      I’m so glad to hear you’ve enjoyed the blog, Janice. I’m sending you an email with that info.

  3. September 20, 2012 8:22 am

    You have a wonderful blog. So full of interesting information and links. I am so glad I found you! Your work is so lovely.

    • September 22, 2012 7:22 pm

      Thank you, Roberta! I’m so glad you’ve introduced yourself and your beautiful work.

  4. October 11, 2012 5:15 pm

    Nice combination of dark and light.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

