Skip to content

The Urgency of Abundance

August 31, 2012

This week I made pickles: green tomato relish, mixed sweet peppers, jalapenos, okra, and beets. Well, I’m lying about the beets. I did those a few months ago, but they wanted to be in the picture because of their luscious deep magenta color. In addition, I dehydrated a big pile of cayenne peppers and crushed them into flakes for our pizza and pasta.

Last week was jam week. This was pickle week. Not by choice, but by the urgency of abundance. These few garden gifts were ready all at once, to be preserved for some future day when a taste of summer will be just what’s needed to lift the spirits.

We have been preparing our garden beds for some fall vegetables like broccoli, cabbage, greens, lettuce, beets, and onions. But this time we’re having to erect cat barriers to keep the feral cats from using our garden as a collection of great big litter boxes. My cat barriers are made using either green plastic mesh or bird netting — whatever I have lying around. If squirrels become the problem they were last year, I’ll have to go with all bird netting. If I were to calculate the cost of these veggies, I’d probably sit down and cry.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2012 11:48 am

    I’m a granddaughter of the south. These pickled goods remind me of my childhood. This brought a smile to my face. Thank you!

  2. August 31, 2012 4:49 pm

    I’ve been canning, too. Beet pickles. Dill pickles. Marionberry jam. Pickled peaches. Freezing cherry tomatoes whole for use in winter soups and sauces. Stocking up for winter makes me feel quite smug, and staying on subject, the jars in my pantry are evidence of my creativity, as much as the collages I love to create.

    • August 31, 2012 8:45 pm

      Good for you, Jo. I couldn’t agree more! It’s a deeply satisfying and fulfilling thing to do. I really do consider the canning, bread baking, and gardening as parts of a creative whole.

  3. August 31, 2012 10:00 pm

    I used abundance as my one word theme for the year a while back. Interesting how often it made me aware of just how much I have been given.

    Good topic martha

    • September 2, 2012 11:39 am

      Annette, that theme is showing up for me everywhere these days. I think more about what I have than about what I want. It’s amazing what a consciousness shift that is.

  4. marilyn permalink
    September 4, 2012 12:38 am

    “The Urgency of Abundance”…a great title. Made me really stop and think. Thank you.

    • September 8, 2012 9:36 am

      Glad you liked the title, Marilyn. Sometimes titles just seem to appear out of nowhere, and yet fit the situation. Other times I’m not as lucky.

  5. September 14, 2012 6:11 pm

    Ha! that’s how you do it! secure plant lock down! looks like you got a great bounty!

    • September 19, 2012 6:12 pm

      I am so thrilled with my little garden. It’s a learning lab really. But it does keep us in lots of fresh produce and a little to “put up” as well.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

