Skip to content

My Thinking Place

August 24, 2012

Solitude – Collage, 4×4″

The studio is a wonderful place of solitude for me, which I miss when I can’t be there. It’s a world where anything can happen, a place full of possibilities and surprises. Even when the surprises turn out to be unpleasant ones, I treat them as learning experiences and keep going.

Somehow the studio and the garden are both learning laboratories. But I have to say I feel more at home and experienced in the studio. It’s my anti-stress place, my thinking place.

Do you like my studio dog? There’s probably another one hiding in her crate somewhere in the room. They are my constant companions.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2012 7:15 pm

    I like seeing the photos of your studio and look forward to following.

  2. Sue Cole permalink
    August 24, 2012 9:34 pm

    I wish my studio was that neat

    • August 24, 2012 10:44 pm

      Sue, those pictures aren’t exactly current! I have to whip it back into shape again right now. After doing a frenzy of collage making, it can get pretty messy in a hurry. 🙂

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 24, 2012 11:55 pm

    love that new piece Martha. i also enjoy seeing your studio photos. being animal crazy, your dog was the first thing i saw in that picture. i have been checking in with you daily for i don’t know how long…years in any case. i’m back to painting these days and loving it. talk to you later Martha.

    sherrill, montreal

    • August 25, 2012 8:21 am

      Sherrill, it’s wonderful that you have been reading my blog for all this time! You seem like an old friend. I’m glad you’re painting again! Was that you who commented as “Anonymous” last time? I didn’t realize it was you. Good that you signed your comment so I’d know! Have a beautiful weekend.

  4. August 25, 2012 6:56 am

    Lovely studio, Martha! Mine is tiny as I live in 300 square feet with my 70-pound Golden, Gracie Mae. I’d love a way to spread things out BEcause when I get to painting with paint [normally I paint with paper] I feel compelled to fill the entire canvas or board with paint. I love your collage work. It is inspiring and encouraging as I, too, generally work small. there are two paintings on 12 by 12 board that I’ve been painting and over-painting and at the moment they look dark and scary. sometimes I am so grateful for gesso!!
    I really enJOY your blog and wanted to take a moment to say so!!
    Have a BEauty day!!

    • August 25, 2012 8:32 am

      Currie, thanks for stopping by! I really am blessed to have a studio like this one. I waited all my life for it! It’s a finished garage that the previous owner had made into a man cave, complete with pool table, big couch, and . . . (gasp!) . . . deer heads all around the walls!!! It was one big reason we bought the house — so I could make it into a studio. I’ve been there, living in spaces that required me to put everything away after a painting session. Or sometimes I would just say the heck with it and leave them out. We artists will prevail!

  5. Anonymous permalink
    August 25, 2012 9:22 am

    you really deserve that studio after all those years in the dinette…and i know it is not that neat!! really liked looking at your garden art too.margaret

  6. August 25, 2012 9:46 am

    Appreciate what you’ve said about being in the studio, that place where even the challenges of finishing a piece is still a de-stressor, creating is so powerful. Love seeing your studio, great set up, lots of space to work with and yes mess up!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

