Skip to content

More Fun with Painted Papers

August 10, 2012

The thought of those alcohol inks kept nagging me yesterday and early this morning. I was curious how they are different from painting with thinned out acrylics or watercolor for that matter. I know the colors are more brilliant, but what else was different about them? I tend to go with whatever I have on hand and improvise. So here’s what I did.

I put small amounts each from four of my Jacquard Textile Colors into little plastic cups, thinning them with about 4 parts regular old rubbing alcohol to one part fabric paint. Then I poured them onto some of my sheets of paper that already had some acrylic paints on them, but also had bare paper showing through.

I poured little puddles of each color mixture randomly all over the sheet. Then with my big 3-inch colour shaper, I dragged the paint around the sheet, letting it run between the previously painted areas. I let the wet color mix arbitrarily, but tried to keep some of it from mixing. At the same time, I wanted color all over the paper, with no bare spots.

These are the surprising results from just a few sheets done this way.

I’m looking forward to playing more with alcohol inks to see how they behave under other conditions. I noticed today that they stay where you put them, grabbing the surface of the paper and yet you can redistribute the wet color to another area without disturbing the first application. Very cool.

This last one is the only one on which I used just blue, green, and purple and let them blend together. This torn piece of paper is very large — about 16 x 20 inches. It’s one that I had been using to deposit excess paint from my brayers. In addition, it had been crumpled and flattened out — a piece of heavy white paper that had been in a box used as packing. The wrinkles added a wonderful texture.

I can’t wait to see these in my collage stash.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 7:34 pm

    I can’t wait either Martha! I love them all and can just see cutting each of them into smaller pieces and adding bits of paint and papers to. 🙂

    • August 10, 2012 9:50 pm

      Itaya, cutting into them is the hardest part! But then after that it’s easy. 🙂

  2. Sue Cole permalink
    August 11, 2012 1:08 am

    the main thing I’ve noticed that’s different is when you use them on a hard surface, like glossy photo paper or glossy cardstock or ceramic tiles. I dye scarves with fabric dyes, so am thinking of trying to make alcohol inks with the leftover dyes. I know you can color a scarf with sharpies, then spray them with 99%alcohol and they will blend together. The alcohol will break down acrylic paints, but it makes an interesting effect. I like to play around with effects myself. Lately, I sprayed some leftover clothes dye all over some watercolor paper for bookcovers and it turned out great. I finally uploaded the photos to my computer, so will be putting them on facebook soon.

  3. August 11, 2012 7:05 am

    such a cool range of effects!

  4. August 12, 2012 4:37 pm

    what fun! You look like you are having a great time here

  5. qubeabstract permalink
    August 28, 2012 8:27 am

    Very vibrant and expressive works!

  6. September 29, 2012 6:06 pm

    beautifull! i love the colours
    mind if i add your blog to my blogroll?you can visit my site at http://onlineartgallery.basepen.net/
    thanks!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

