Skip to content

More on Displaying Small Art

August 9, 2012

Standard Bearer – Collage, 4×4″

This is my newest collage. Yesterday I talked a little bit in the blog and in the comments about displaying small artworks. Here is another way to present small works. Your collage or other works on paper could be mounted to a gallery-wrap canvas or a block of wood. It might look something like this:

Another solution, of course, is to mat and frame your collage as we discussed before. Since collage usually has either an irregular edge or is mounted on a larger backing, it sometimes might not be desirable to place a mat with a smaller opening on top of it. In this case, it would be good to mat it, but with an opening that is larger than the collage. Like this:

This one doesn’t have the huge border like the one I showed yesterday, but is still effective. This shows what a 4×4 collage would look like with an 8×10 mat and frame.

My Website

I spent more time today solving some problems with my website that I caused when I uploaded many new works. Well, I don’t think I actually was the cause of the problem, but there was a glitch that had to get resolved. Today there are many more works on the site. I’m excited to have an organized way to showcase my most recent paintings and collages. I’ll keep adding to it. Take a look if you haven’t already. Your feedback is always welcome!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Janice permalink
    August 9, 2012 11:39 pm

    Love your work and all the helpful ‘tips’.
    My plan was to do an ICAD college per day using things I find each day here on the streets of SanMiguel de Allende, MX but so far I’ve only done 4 & today is the 9th!!
    I plan on getting a Blog up and running when I get home as the Internet connection here is so erratic it drives me crazy….your on then your off, etc,etc.
    I really look forward to your messages each day…when I can get on to read them 🙂
    Thanks so much for your encouragement.
    Janice

    • August 10, 2012 10:29 am

      Janice, I can’t wait to see what your inspirations are. I know you will be just full of blog posts ready to go when you get back to the daily routine (and your internet!)

  2. August 12, 2012 2:41 pm

    Martha — Interesting how the varying frames do make a difference. I tend to love the matted look with the larger expanse of matting — it seems to couch the smaller work making it seem more significant, if you know what I mean? Thanks for sharing!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

