Skip to content

Displaying Small Art

August 8, 2012

Behind the Door – Collage, 4×4″

This is one of several new 4″ square collages I’ve been working on. This is my favorite size for collage. They just have a nice intimacy and rhythm. They also look great framed with a big border, even as large as 11 x 14. Like this:

All you’d have to do is buy a standard frame and mount your collage directly onto a piece of mat board, slip it inside the frame, and there you have it. If you have concerns about the art coming in contact with the glass, you could include a mat with an opening larger than the small art to keep it away from the glass.

My choice is usually to add long skinny spacers between the backing board and the glass, small enough to be concealed by the frame. Those can be made by adhering narrow strips of mat board or foam core to the front of the backing board, flush with each of the four edges. They don’t have to be very long — maybe 3 or 4 inches.

My Tweaked Website

I spent quite a bit of time this morning tweaking my website. I’ve replaced a lot of the works and added a whole collage section. Feel free to let me know what you think!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 6:51 pm

    Great idea – love the collage too! =D

  2. August 8, 2012 8:37 pm

    The small works and wide mats? Yes!! My five Martha originals are all matted and framed the same and I love seeing them in a group on the wall. We chose a warm cream at and I love the way they turned out. You can see them at the bottom of this post http://cathsheard.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/collecting-other-artists-works/

  3. August 8, 2012 9:21 pm

    Love the look of this small collage with the wide border, nice!

    Your website looks great, too 🙂

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 9, 2012 1:05 pm

    I also like working ultra small, and I like this framing idea, but it won’t work so well for entry into small works exhibitions, since they measure by frame. I am grappling with that issue nowreharding an upcoming opportunity.

  5. August 9, 2012 4:36 pm

    Great idea! Small collages are absolute gems.

    • August 9, 2012 4:52 pm

      I love them too, Barbara! And a big border and frame helps them to not get lost on the wall.

  6. August 10, 2012 10:20 am

    website looks great…very clear and concise. Displays art well.
    patq

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

