Skip to content

Lawns Are Overrated

July 27, 2012

Lawns Are Overrated – Collage on Panel, 8x8x2″

I’ve had this rose-colored piece of painted cardboard in my art “stuff” for several years. In fact, I’ve used it several times in printmaking by painting the surface of the cardboard and placing it on the press bed with other objects for printing. So this week while I was looking through my stash for collage materials, this piece called out to me. I think one reason I hadn’t used it before is that both sides were painted and I liked both of them. So now the opposite side is permanently glued down and is no more.

The title came to me since I’ve spent quite a lot of time lately fantasizing about replacing my lawn completely with flowers and vegetables. After all, lawns are ridiculously overrated.

Have a wonderful weekend. I hope you find some “you” time.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 2:49 pm

    I love this one Martha! Not sure why it appeals to me so much. Perhaps it’s because there is a bit of structure in the midst of the abstractness? Or maybe it’s the colors that you used. Regardless, very glad you decided to share this collage piece with us all. 🙂

    • July 29, 2012 5:45 am

      Thanks, Itaya! Maybe it is the structure. I love playing around with some realism or whimsy, even if it’s not my usual style.

  2. July 27, 2012 2:54 pm

    It’s a great piece, and the size is very nice as well. I agree, I’ve been thinking of changing much of my lawn to a rock garden with paths, etc. I need SOME lawn for the dogs but for the most part it’s bye grass!

    • July 29, 2012 5:47 am

      Thanks, Angel. I know, we have our dogs too, and the back yard is really big and good space for them to run. Still, it has to get mowed. Ugh! At least we just let it be whatever it wants to be. Some grass, a lot of dandelions, clover, etc. No chemicals! 🙂

  3. Sandra permalink
    July 27, 2012 5:32 pm

    I can see all sorts of things in this lovely work. And I so agree about lawn, great idea to turn it into a productive garden instead. But how would your dogs like that?

    • July 29, 2012 5:48 am

      You’re right, Sandra. My dogs do need a place to run. So there’s that. We keep a lot of the back yard open for them, and there’s still plenty of room for my raised beds.

  4. July 27, 2012 9:32 pm

    Amen sister…we do not have a lawn surrounding our cabin in the woods. I have tried to encourage indigenous wild plants and shrubs to our rocky hillside. Drought resistant too! I love this piece. The pink house is great! Peace, Mary Helen

  5. July 30, 2012 9:02 pm

    I’m with the others Martha; love this one. That pink rocks!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

