Skip to content

Everything Old is New Again

July 26, 2012

Music to My Ears – Collage on Panel, 8x8x2″

Under my art table is a box. Inside the box are five brand new, unopened 8×8″ cradled panels, 2″ deep. I love painting on them, but have been eyeing them with the thought of using them for some collage pieces. After all, they’ve been stashed there for a year, and I’m not in a hurry to make more paintings on them just yet. And in any case I can always get more.

This collage is a fun departure from the pure abstract imagery I’ve been doing lately, but isn’t a first. It has photographic elements, but so do many of my small collages on paper.

Now that I’m starting to collage onto everything, I’ve rounded up several more smallish canvases with old paintings on them, and about six 12-inch square 1/8″ wood panels. I had bought those panels for encaustic several years ago. I did a fairly large series of encaustics and these were left over. So now I’m thinking I might collage onto those too. When I do, I want to incorporate some of the wood into the design. That may prove to be more difficult than it sounds.

I’m looking forward to trying all these “new” surfaces for collage.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 4:22 pm

    This collage is gorgeous! Love the colours too

  2. July 28, 2012 7:21 pm

    Great work, inspiring and well-done! look forward to seeing more.

  3. July 29, 2012 2:31 pm

    Interesting assortment made to relate.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

