Skip to content

Art Waits

July 24, 2012

Road Trip – Collage, 8×8″

If life gets in the way of creating art, your art waits until you have the energy to pick it up again. If I don’t get to immediately explore the creative ideas that come to me during the day, they usually just keep floating around my awareness for a while, waiting till I’m available. I may make some notes, or sketches, or save links to inspiring websites. When days go by and I haven’t been able to focus on my art, these ideas will become a little more insistent. They will bubble up into my dreams, or appear on the computer screen in seemingly unrelated forms, until I stop what I’m doing and start creating that “thing” that’s been bugging me.

I forget this fact of life until I get into a situation like the one I’m in right now. Not much art got explored during a week of preparing to leave on a road trip, then the trip itself, and then one might as well add another week for catching up on the garden and other seemingly routine things on our return.

So this week is feeling a little bit more normal — whatever that is — and all of the fun and inspiring ideas for art that have been on hold seem to be pouring out from the place they had been stored. Right now I picture that place as a closet. Sometimes I have to hold the door shut to keep everything from piling out at once. So this week, I’m opening the door and we’ll see what happens.

Note: The collage shown here was created at the same time as the one shown in this post. I’ve been experimenting with more ideas that I’ll share in upcoming posts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 7:19 pm

    Let the flood flow! Beautiful collage … =D

  2. July 24, 2012 8:22 pm

    Remain calm and allow your spirit and ideas to compose themselves as you take time to alter your studio time for a road trip. The time off often forces me to return in full force. Peace and have a great road trip! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  3. Sandra permalink
    July 24, 2012 11:46 pm

    Wonderful depiction of a road trip! I was very interested in how your creative ideas are “stored” when you don’t have the time to work on them. Mine seem to evaporate, or I go off them.

    • July 26, 2012 1:10 pm

      Well Sandra, some of mine evaporate too. And some do indeed lose their allure over time. But there still are so many more there and waiting!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

