Skip to content

A Not-So-Perfect Circle

July 19, 2012

I’ve decided to show you this image. It’s an actual painted cardboard circle, about  7 inches in diameter. But it started out as a paint palette and is the bottom of a plastic coated paper plate. I just fell in love with the colors, cut it out, and scanned it. My purpose in scanning it was to have a nice high resolution scan to work into other images. But the original concept might give me ideas for some kind of series of artworks in the round. I do love the circle.

The more I look at this, the more I know I want to do something based on the circle, perhaps on a larger scale. The thing is, my color combinations work out best and are the most interesting when they are completely random.  Once I over-think them, they evaporate into thin air.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2012 5:01 pm

    This is totally cool! I love it!

  2. July 19, 2012 9:26 pm

    The circle itself is interesting….the colors are contained and yet explosive. I love this exercise. Party on lady! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • July 20, 2012 8:50 am

      Thank you, Mary Helen, for the permission to party. And just in time for the weekend too! 😉

  3. July 19, 2012 10:42 pm

    Martha, allowing random design and/or textures like this are a sign of confidence and finding ways to incorporate and not cover are signs if knowledge and experience. You’ve got the signs!

    • July 20, 2012 8:52 am

      Ahh, Annette – you are too kind! You’ve seen me (us) in action and know that’s my M.O. most of the time.

  4. July 20, 2012 12:58 am

    i think it’s perfect just as it is … <=D

  5. Sandra permalink
    July 20, 2012 2:21 am

    Yes love it and quite agree that random can work out best. You are just so cool. I might not be in touch over August, will be away. Try to get computer access to keep up, have to wait and see.

    • July 20, 2012 8:54 am

      Sandra, thanks so much. I hope you have a lovely time and get back refreshed and inspired. Hope to see you popping in again soon.

  6. July 27, 2012 3:43 am

    Wonderful!

    • July 29, 2012 5:43 am

      I’m very glad you like this, Eva. Makes me want to try something else along those lines!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

