Skip to content

To Beautiful Days

June 13, 2012

Waiting for Rain – Collage, 6×6″

Today is the most beautiful day one could ever hope for. The air is cool this morning, with a soft breeze and not a cloud in the sky. I woke up to take the dogs out way before daylight and the birds had already started their concert in the trees. I went back for a couple more hours of sleep. When I got up again, the sounds and the beauty of the day were so calming and peaceful that I decided today I would not turn on the TV, and wouldn’t close the windows and doors.

Today I’m giving myself the gift of no stress. I’m refraining from any activity that makes me anxious or gives me a sense of urgency. Today is not the day for urgency.

Several times I’ve gone outside to check on the garden. I planted some new flowers, did some more weeding (always weeding!) and picked tomatoes.

This collage was the first of a few that I created out on the screened porch, with birds singing against a backdrop of a soft breeze.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2012 8:48 pm

    It sounds just heavenly! We had an afternoon like this and they are just the best!

  2. June 13, 2012 9:13 pm

    A lovely post, just reading about your day brings me peace. I’m enjoying these summer mornings, too.

    • June 15, 2012 10:27 am

      Glad to know that, Jane. As I’m writing this reply, I’m sitting here with another beautiful morning. It’s amazing really. So glad the heat hasn’t hit us yet.

  3. June 13, 2012 9:32 pm

    That sounds heavenly!

  4. June 13, 2012 10:37 pm

    Yes to stressfree days! Sounds like a wonderful way to enjoy a day!
    Love all your collages!

  5. June 14, 2012 3:40 am

    Beautiful colors and textures Martha! 🙂

  6. June 14, 2012 7:33 am

    A perfect day indeed. It must have been a day for getting up early as I was too. http://viewfromthebackdoor.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/up-with-the-lark/
    No dog to walk, though. Do I spot some fabric in the collage above?

    • June 15, 2012 10:34 am

      Myfanwy, it’s a floral snippet from a magazine page, smeared with a little paint for good measure. I checked out your post and it was absolutely lovely! Thanks for sharing the sounds and sights in your world.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

