Skip to content

To Iron or Not to Iron

May 24, 2012

Sometimes I like to work with the wrinkles that occur naturally in my collages to take advantage of the interesting textures, as shown here with the shape at the top of this collage.

Collage 037 – Handmade and Hand Painted Papers, 8×8″

However, if you want a nice smooth surface, here is Jonathan Talbot’s method for fusing collage papers. It requires a little more preparation ahead of time, but is foolproof and works beautifully. If you haven’t tried it, you should.

I have used this method off and on since I took one of Jonathan’s workshops, but that’s just about the only thing I will iron. Well, except for the occasional dry mounting of a piece of art to a backing. Clothes are a whole other story. If I want wrinkles out of my clothes, I just spritz them with a little water and toss them in the dryer for a few minutes. Life is too short to iron clothes.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. patqu permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:12 am

    Hi Martha:
    I like the wrinkles, think they add character to the piece. Love this collage and the papers used.
    Ironing?…. What’s that??……….. 🙂
    Patq’

    • May 24, 2012 5:40 pm

      Thanks Pat. And come to think of it, wrinkles just plain add character to just about anything!

  2. sandra dorey permalink
    May 24, 2012 1:37 pm

    Loving your landscapes – and i SO agree that ‘life is too short to iron clothes’!!!!!
    I don’t have a tumble drier but I fold straight off the line or put straight on a hanger.

    • May 24, 2012 5:40 pm

      Glad you’re liking these, Sandra. I also use your clothes smoothing suggestions sometimes. The other day I even put on the tea kettle and let the steam come out through the spout so I could steam the wrinkles out of my husband’s newly-purchased shirt! 🙂

  3. May 24, 2012 2:21 pm

    Sometimes I use the Talbot method and other times use gel medium or a glue stick. They all have their advantages and disadvantages. Oh, and BOO to ironing clothes! (Yes, I look pretty rumpled but happy). LOL

    Nice collage!

  4. Sandra permalink
    May 24, 2012 4:30 pm

    My comment appears to have vanished into cyberspace, apologies if it turns up again and is duplicated. Love this series. I am planning a series of abstract landscape paintings to experiment with some of the effects and colour schemes we’ve done in the course. Are you OK about my basing some on the composition of some of yours? Just as a starting point, the end result would be quite different.
    I love your attitude towards ironing!

    • May 24, 2012 5:38 pm

      Thanks Sandra! They both came through — the first one came through as Anonymous, but since they both had almost all the same text I deleted the first one. Sure, you’d be welcome to use some of the compositions as a jumping off point.

  5. May 24, 2012 9:28 pm

    Jonathon’s method is worth a try but I do agree wrinkles add character to just about everything!!! Lovely collage lady! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  6. May 24, 2012 9:50 pm

    Love this piece, Martha! Such a nice flow to it; very easy on the eyes. Your work is always a crowd-pleaser, kid. So blessed to know you & your work through your blog, DJ

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

