Skip to content

A Perfect Day

May 17, 2012

The first thought that crossed my mind this morning at sunrise was how perfect this day was going to be. We slept with the windows open, and the birds woke us up with their joyful singing. I made one little pot of coffee for myself, let my husband sleep in a little, and grabbed my cup of coffee and headed outside. Mornings like this one are so rare that they deserve to be savored

Collage 034 – Handmade, found, and hand painted papers, 8×8″

This is another of my new abstract landscape collages. The background paper at the top of the image is baked parchment, originally used under a loaf of bread in the oven. The irregular edges are due to the brittleness of the baked paper.

I’ve made a few more of these abstract landscape collages this week. Like everything else, I need to do these until I get them out of my system. I think it’s going to take a while.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. sandra dorey permalink
    May 18, 2012 1:16 am

    i love the way you see collage uses even in used baking parchment! it inspires me to look at anything and everything as a potential art material. it creates a lovely story behind the picture too

    • May 19, 2012 3:56 pm

      Thanks, Sandra. Glad you are inspired to look for everything that might become part of your art.

  2. May 18, 2012 7:49 am

    I love the textural landscape and you painted a lovely picture in words as well 🙂

  3. May 18, 2012 9:39 am

    Sensational collage. The colors, composition, and suggestion of light/shadow…perfect!

  4. May 18, 2012 12:32 pm

    I love mornings like the one you describe. I’m not well enough to embrace them at the moment, but it won’t be long…. Your landscape is lovely. I’m looking forward to getting back to collage. That won’t be long either.

    • May 19, 2012 4:00 pm

      Myfanwy, I hope you are getting better and better every day. I’ve been thinking about you. Take good care of yourself. Your art will help the healing process.

  5. May 19, 2012 12:34 pm

    I love your llandscape abstract collages, they do speak to me well;-) I
    I know what you mean when you say you have to get something out of the system it keeps on lurking and niggling away untile its done!

    • May 19, 2012 4:01 pm

      Thank you, Chris. I have a feeling you and I see very similar scenery around us. And I do enjoy just following the theme or idea wherever it leads.

  6. May 21, 2012 4:31 pm

    Came upon your blog by chance. Enjoyed your collages, reminded me of some of my own. Check out my blog. Motherof3alsopaints.blogspot.com

    • May 21, 2012 6:04 pm

      Sarah, thank you so much for visiting. I enjoyed your blog and dropped you a comment. Thanks again!

      Martha

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

