Skip to content

Abstract Landscape Collages, Day Two

May 15, 2012

Collage 033 – Handmade and Hand Painted Papers, 8×8″

It turns out that I will want a large portfolio of abstract landscape collages. I’m really enjoying this theme. Today I hope to make a few more, as the possibilities are endless.

Is it any wonder I love doing these, when this is the countryside I see everywhere?

Yesterday we went on another short road trip to the Big Supermarket in the Next City. We like to stop in there and stock up on things we can’t find locally, like a good selection of organic produce and just better selections all around.

On our route, I usually ask Jim to drive through Joe Wheeler State Park, which is just beside the main highway. It’s on the Tennessee River where the scenery is always serene and beautiful. There is always wildlife to see and perhaps catch a snapshot or two. I saw a big fat groundhog near the road, but he didn’t want his picture taken. However, there were four deer grazing in a little clearing right off the road, and they didn’t mind at all, as long as we kept our distance.

(With apologies for the shaky camera.)

On our route, we stopped at a popular local farm stand and peach orchard, only to find they were closed. But I was fascinated by their huge array of dried gourds and gourd birdhouses.

Next time we stop, I think I’ll get a few of these, paint them, and hang them in my trees.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 12:50 pm

    How close to a real view — and magic at the same time. As you said — infinite possibilities.

  2. May 21, 2012 1:46 pm

    Wow, just discovered your blog and beautiful art. Your collages are stunning, especially liking the mix of colours in this one, so well reflecting the landscape!

    • May 21, 2012 6:07 pm

      Thank you for visiting my blog! I’m so glad you like the current collages. Your blog is beautiful and thought provoking. I’m happy to discover it.

  3. May 22, 2012 3:59 am

    They really are beautiful Martha; thanks also for visiting our blog, and glad to hear you like it! Do keep coming back, as we will to yours!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

