Skip to content

A Rainy Weekend = Art

May 14, 2012

Over the weekend we got some very welcome rain, and in the process I had to change my schedule from outdoors to indoors.

Collage 032 – Collage with Hand Painted and Handmade Papers, 10×8″

And guess what that means! It means I get to do art. Saturday morning I brought out an assortment of papers, glue, and paint to the back porch where my studio table is still set up from a recent family gathering, and sat there having a glorious time listening to the birds and creating collages.

For this series, I decided to do some abstract landscapes. And this is where the hand painted and handmade papers become a very important palette, because of the rich variety of textures and colors available.

I will be sharing more of these in future posts.

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 5:28 pm

    Delicious!

  2. May 14, 2012 6:07 pm

    Martha, here’s wishing you more rainy days.

  3. May 14, 2012 7:49 pm

    Love all the different textures!

  4. May 14, 2012 10:33 pm

    This fuzzy paper …is so wonderful in your collage. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  5. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:48 pm

    These papers work just so well for an abstract landscape with the beautiful range of textures and colours. I too wish you more rainy days. I’ve just returned from a readers and writers festival in Auckland where I was also privileged to see their wonderful art exhibition “From Degas to Dali”. Our art gallery is closed indefinitely so it was such a treat.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    May 15, 2012 1:18 pm

    I love these landscape abstract so differrent from your abstract ones and love the deer photos

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

