Skip to content

Art is My Altitude Adjustment

May 8, 2012

Altitude Adjustment – Acrylic on 300# Arches Paper, 5×5″

In order to achieve an attitude adjustment one sometimes needs an altitude adjustment, don’t you think?

Everyone has their own favorite ways to rise above the everyday stresses, but art is one sure way for me. I feel so fortunate to have close at hand the luxury of paints, paper, pencils, pens, brushes and a whole world of color. In my own little art world, I give myself permission to make a mess and not clean it up, make mistakes without self-criticism, and to get lost in any number of adventures. I can even lose track of whole blocks of time. I can sing and talk to myself without anyone overhearing, and my dogs love the vibe.

Even when I had my day job and was raising a family, I would make time for my art, because it was the one thing that kept me connected to my inner child. I can’t imagine being without it.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2012 4:07 pm

    Getting lost in the adventures art holds in store for those who do not paint for the sake of others but because it is a way of living, because it is essential to life – I think it has saved me, many times over. Saved me in so many small ways, unspectacular ways. I love to know that to others, too, the solitary moments of making art means to be in the present, uncensored, even by themselves ( and aren’t we the harshest when it comes to censoring ourselves ?), connecting to the inner child, who is still alive, at play, carefree. Thank you for that beautiful post.

    • May 8, 2012 4:52 pm

      Being in the present is the ultimate goal of art-making for me, Inger-Kristina! I’m so with you on that.

  2. May 8, 2012 10:13 pm

    Thank you for the gentle reminder…Art saves my life! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  3. sandra dorey permalink
    May 9, 2012 1:21 am

    i love this post – when i am engrossed in a piece of art it becomes like a new love, i have to check in with it first thing in the morning, last thing at night, and yearn to spend free flow quality time with it

  4. May 24, 2012 10:07 pm

    Martha, I can’t help but feel that we need to talk more about making time to create, even while we have family & a day job. Perhaps we could lend support to our young mothers, as well as our children in helping them know their creative pursuits are important. I blogged about this in the post entitled, “What on Earth Are You Doing?” several weeks ago. Some are out there making stuff and feeling alone in their work, but needlessly; others are stifling their urges to create, due to expectations and pressures.

    • May 28, 2012 3:29 pm

      DJ, I really did love what you wrote about that whole subject. The message just needs to get out there on a regular basis. Thanks for the heartfelt post. I promise to talk about it more too.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

