Skip to content

A Slight Change of Palette

May 1, 2012

As Natural As Breathing - Acrylic and Collage on 300# Watercolor Paper, 5x5"

 

More and more color is showing up in things I’m working on lately. Evidence of the seasons is apparent in whatever I do — there’s just no avoiding it.

My flower garden is bursting with color already, and the zinnias aren’t even 6 inches high yet. But already there are coreopsis (a wonderful little perennial,) daylilies, petunias, a few peonies, clematis climbing on the fence, and dwarf dahlias. I’ve prepared a new area of the flower bed for a collection of dinner plate dahlias that are on order from Holland.

It’s difficult to sit and write when all that beauty is calling. Sadly, there won’t be many springlike days. We are already crowding into summer. Can anyone seriously doubt climate change is upon us?

Clematis

Dwarf Dahlia

Petunias

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 11:48 pm

    I love the colours in your abstract painting, & what a very beautiful garden you have! 🙂

  2. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    May 2, 2012 2:29 am

    I love the fact that you are using more colour, and can see from the photos of your beautiful flowers where it is coming from. You grow much the same flowers as I do, except that here it will soon all be over until the spring. Do you ever come to hate a painting you’re working on? I have come to dislike my current one, can’t wait to get it finished. Everything seems to go wrong with it!

    • May 2, 2012 8:27 am

      Sandra, this is an occupational hazard with painters. I wish I could tell you it will go away, but I’d be lying. But then, sometimes lemons magically become lemonade. I hope that’s the case with this one.

  3. May 2, 2012 6:50 am

    One can certainly see the influence of the spits of colors, stems and textures of your gardens in the yummy little painting. Beautiful post today, Martha.

  4. patqu permalink
    May 2, 2012 9:38 am

    Hi Martha: I love the spring like colors and textures in this new collageed painting. You can enjoy your garden two ways….by planting and painting!

    • May 4, 2012 12:43 pm

      Pat, it most definitely is my inspiration and gives me energy! Glad you like the painting.

  5. Sue permalink
    May 2, 2012 11:16 pm

    our weather is doing the opposite! Just when we thought Spring had come, it cooled off and snowed again yesterday – hope Summer comes soon.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

