Skip to content

Sliced and Diced

April 24, 2012

Sliced - Mixed Media on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

This is a mixed media painting that I sent to the Tampa gallery a while back, but never posted it here. I’m showing it now because I wanted you to see something really nutty that I came up with.

I had a foam plate that I had been using for a palette, so I cut it into strips, paint and all, and applied it to a painted background. Once it was dry, I covered it in a heavy coat of clear acrylic gel. Just a fun idea that turned out in a happy way at the time. Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 6:58 pm

    hello and what a great idea. colour, texture and whimsy.
    i like it.

  2. April 24, 2012 8:41 pm

    wow…I love it…energy, happy, spring, different , interesting, perhaps something to explore more often?? Karin Lynn

  3. April 24, 2012 10:02 pm

    This is an interesting way to “USE” those beautiful bits that are laying around from several projects. Lovely statement in color. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  4. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    April 25, 2012 4:20 am

    Wow, what a variety of inspiration you are able to create. A different kind of painting for you, and how impressive! Working on current project, find that I can’t get the effect I want with gradwrap on canvas, have to think of something different. Friends came to lunch today, saw previous work, think I am improving, which is encouraging.

  5. brenthebeau permalink
    April 25, 2012 5:43 am

    simple concept, big impact! It’s a beautiful piece

  6. patqu permalink
    April 25, 2012 9:45 am

    What fun!!!!!!!!! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

